Vegan Sausage Korma Curry

The other day bought the Australian Eatwell Vegie Sausages (tomato, onion, basil) to try something new. They are 70% vegetable, so not completely made of soy protein. I figured I’ve been eating enough soy products as it is. They are available from the two major supermarkets. I cooked a couple last night in the pan, like the instructions suggest. They didn’t taste that sausage like, so I thought do something different with them.

I was looking online this afternoon to get some inspiration and I came across Curried Sausages recipe. I adapted the recipe a fair bit, so their would be more vegetables and it would be more creamier. I usually don’t use store bought spice paste, but I wasn’t sure how to make Korma paste. So I bought Pataks Korma Paste, which is apparently vegan, as the lactic acid in Pataks products is non animal derived. The curry was quite tangy, but with the coconut cream it was much nicer. The paste was not spicy at all, so I had to add cayenne pepper. It was good, but next time I would use a different sausage. Marco was happy with it, which is good since he will be having it again tomorrow for lunch. I would of liked to add coriander to the curry, but Marco and his mum don’t like it. I just added it to my rice and it was also nice.

Vegan Sausage Korma Curry (vegan, gluten free)

Ingredients:

1 tablespoon coconut oil

1 onion, diced

1 small capsicum, diced

4 tablespoons korma curry paste

1 teaspoon cayenne pepper

2 teapsoons arrowroot flour

1 apple, grated

2 tomatoes, chopped

2 potatoes, diced

1 packet of vegan sausages (containing 6-8)

1.5 cups vegan chicken stock

250ml coconut cream (1 tetra pak)

100g baby spinach, chopped

1.5 cups steamed basmati rice

coriander leaves to serve

Method:

1. Cook rice according to packet. Best to use rice cooker and leave on warm setting till it is needed.

2. Heat coconut oil in a large pot, then add onion and cook for 4 mins on medium heat.

3. Add capsicum and cook for 1 min.

4. Add korma paste, cayenne pepper, arrowroot flour,  apple, tomatoes and potatoes. Stir and cook for 1 min.

5. Add liquid stock and sausages. Bring to boil, then let it simmer for 30 mins or until potatoes are soft.

6. Add spinach and coconut cream and cook for 1 min.

7. Serve with steamed rice with coriander leaves. 

Risoni Pasta with Sun-dried Tomatoes & Mushrooms

We haven’t done the shopping yet and I gave all the leftovers to Marco for lunch, so by lunchtime I was in a frantic hunger. I haven’t had the willpower to completely give up fish yet and that tuna in the cupboard was looking really good. Luckily I saw the risoni pasta and remembered the delicious dish I use to order at my dad’s Italian restaurant. It was risoni in a cream sauce with chicken, sun-dried tomatoes and pine nuts  So I came up with this instead. I would of loved to add pine nuts or spinach, but unfortunately we were out. Instead of cream I just made a half portion of Cheese Sauce that I made for the Baked ‘Cheesy’ Fusilli Bolognese. Before I added the cream sauce I realised that I didn’t really have to of added it. The caramelised onions, tomatoes, and mushrooms coated the pasta enough, but for extra richness the sauce really feed my craving for cream. I always preferred cream sauces and this cheese sauce is mild enough to appear like cream. I will have to see what vegan cream sauce works well with Marsala. Scallopini di vitello alla marsala use to be my favourite dish of all time, so I will have to find a way to substitute the veal and cream. If you have any thoughts let me know…

Risoni Pasta with Sun-dried Tomatoes & Mushrooms (vegan, gluten free option, soy free, nut free)

Ingredients:

1/3 cup risoni pasta (use gluten free pasta if you prefer)

1/2 tablespoon olive oil

1 garlic clove, diced

1/2 small onion, diced

6 sun-dried tomatoes, sliced

4 mushrooms, sliced

1 tablespoon fresh basil, chopped

salt & pepper to taste

Ingredients for Cheese Sauce (for 1 serve use half of the ingredients):

1 tablespoon vegan butter

3/4 cup plant milk (rice or oat; almond or soy if you can tolerate)

1 tablespoon arrowroot flour

2 teaspoons dijon mustard

1/4 teaspoon garlic powder

1/4 teaspoon dried onion flakes

6 tablespoons nutritional yeast

Method:

1. Boil small pot of water and cook risoni according to packet instructions.

2. Heat olive oil in a pan and add onion, garlic, sun-dried tomatoes (these will be oily enough) and cook for 5 mins on medium heat.

3. Add mushrooms to pan and cook for further 1 min or until the mushrooms have browned and add basil. Then set to the side.

4. Prepare the Cheese sauce. In a small mixing bowl combine milk with arrowoot flour and whisk so there are no lumps. 

5. Heat the vegan butter in a small pot on the stove. Once its melted add the milk, dijon mustard, garlic powder, onion flakes and nutritional yeast. Whisk it and let it cook on low heat till it becomes thick.

6. Pour the risoni in the pan and add the cheese sauce. Heat it through and add salt and pepper to taste.

*Ingredients for the pasta serves 1

*Ingredients for the cheese sauce serves 2