Pumpkin and Cannellini bean Curry with Buckwheat

Tonight I was left to my own devices, without any Marco to push me into making something in particular. When he is not here I usually take advantage of not having to worry about what he will eat and just making it up as I go. So this is what I ended up with and lucky for him I left some for him to take to work tomorrow.

I haven’t been eating as many gluten free grains since I’ve come back from Europe and I’ve started eating wheat again. But I need to make sure I have variety, so I don’t get a imagesgluten intolerance again. If you find that you feel sick after you eating, you might have an intolerance to gluten, milk, eggs or something else. This can happen when we get a parasite from travelling or just bad diet in general. It can upset the stomach and create many  food intolerance. I found this out after doing a food intolerance blood test and reading a lot about leaky gut syndrome. If you think might have an intolerance to something in particular like gluten, try taking it out of you diet for three months. Then reintroduce in small amounts and you might find that you have cured yourself. I did a detox, but I really needed to since my leaky gut was really bad. It is possible to take out gluten out of you diet, especially if eating at home. I found it difficult getting gluten-free, dairy-free and vegetarian food from restaurants and takeaway, but slowly things are changing here in Brisbane. Ethnic cuisines can usually accommodate, like Indian and Asian.

If you haven’t tried buckwheat, you should. It can be used like rice or it can be toasted  for cereals and muesli bars or it can be used in soups and stews. It is often used by the Chinese, Japanese, Koreans and Eastern Europeans. Dr Perricone names it one of the top superfoods. Its got more protein then wheat, rice, millet and corn and is high in high in the essential amino acids lysine and arginine. It is also gluten free and good for your cardiovascular system, better blood sugar control, lowers risk of diabetes, and helps prevent gallstones and heart disease.

Pumpkin and Cannellini bean Curry with Buckwheat (vegan, gluten free, soy free, nut free)

Ingredients:

1 cup raw buckwheat

1 teaspoon coconut oil

1/2 onion, diced

2 garlic cloves, diced

1 teaspoon ground cumin

1 teaspoon curry powder

1 teaspoon ground turmeric

1 small piece of pumpkin

1 small piece of capsicum

250ml liquid vegan chicken stock

200g cannellini beans, cooked

165ml coconut milk

salt & pepper to taste

Method:

1. Cook buckwheat according to pack directions and put to the side when finished.

2. Heat coconut oil in pan on medium heat, add onion, garlic, cumin, curry powder and turmeric and cook for 3-4 mins or till browned and fragrant.

3. Add capscium and pumpkin and stir spices through. Then add liquid stock and cook for 15 mins or till pumpkin is soft.

4. Lightly mash the pumpkin then add coconut milk, cannellini beans and season. Cook for another 15 mins.

5. Add the buckwheat and cook till it is heated though.

6. Adjust seasoning and serve 2.