Choc Chip Oatmeal Lactation Cookies

I have just finished eating my first batch of Choc Chip Oatmeal Lactation Cookies. I only made them a few days ago but they are all gone, as I’ve been madly trying to get my milk supply up. My breastfeeding has dramatically improved over the last week and now so has my supply. The secret to these cookies is the combination of oats, brewers yeast and flax seeds. All of which are meant to boost milk supply. I was nearly going to buy some lactation cookies but I’m so happy I made my own. Not only are they cheaper, but they are really easy to make. I have also been taking a breastfeeding supplement which combines fenegreek seeds and blessed thistle. I believe both the supplement and the cookies have really made a difference. This afternoon at my lactation coaching the milk was gushing out which usually only happens first thing in the morning.

This recipe is adapted from the blog Beyond Little Pink Lines. I just tweaked the recipe a little, adding cinnamon and chocolate chips instead of sultanas. I chose to use 4 tablespoons of brewers yeast, to get the full benefit of this ingredient. But be warned, it is quite a bitter flavour, so you really need the chocolate chips or some kind of sweet dried fruit to off set the taste.

DSC04081

Ingredients:

1 cup coconut oil, melted

1 cup panella sugar or raw sugar

1/2 cup apple sauce/puree

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 tablespoons flaxseed meal

4 tablespoons water

2 cups white spelt flour

1.5 teaspoons baking soda

1 teaspoon sea salt

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

4 tablespoons brewers yeast

3 cups rolled oats

1 cup of dairy free chocolate chips

Method:

1. Preheat the oven to 180 degrees and line two cookie sheets with baking paper

2. Take a large mixing bowl and add coconut oil, sugar, apple sauce and vanilla. Mix well.

3. Take another small bowl and combine the flaxseed meal with water. Leave to sit for 2 mins so that it becomes thick.

4. Add the flaxseed meal to the large bowl and stir through.

5. Sift the spelt flour and baking soda into the large mixing bowl and add the sea salt, cinnamon and brewers yeast. Mix well.

6. Lastly stir through the rolled oats and chocolate chips.

7. Use a ice cream scoop or damp hands to form a ball of the mixture, place on the cookie sheet and press down with your fingers. Continue forming more cookies on the sheet. You should get about 24 cookies.

8. Bake the cookies for 10 minutes. If they are still soft cook for a further 2 minutes or turn off the oven and let them rest in the oven with the door open for a couple of minutes. Transfer the cookies onto a drying rack until they are cool enough to eat. This will also firm the cookies.

*Makes 24 cookies

DSC04080

6 thoughts on “Choc Chip Oatmeal Lactation Cookies

  1. Pingback: One Lovely Blog Award | Home of the Compassionate Tummies

Leave a comment