Week 20 to 25

The last few weeks have flown by. I can’t believe I’m already over 6 months pregnant. Most people can’t believe that I am already this far along.  But even with an extra 6kgs I’m starting to feel like a baby elephant.

Here’s some pictures from week 22 to 25. Since I last posted I have grown a lot.

???????????????????????????????

22 weeks

???????????????????????????????

23 weeks & 4 days

24 weeks and 5 days

I did expected to be more uncomfortable and tired at this point. However I have had so much more energy recently. I barely sleep some nights. The baby usually wakes me up anywhere between 4-7 am. This kind of early rising has really amazing Marco, who has never know me as a morning person or someone who doesn’t need 8-10 hours of sleep a day. I also feel less tense and more bendy after the last few week of prenatal pilates and yoga. I can’t believe that one class a week can really make such a difference. I usually feel like I’ve had a massage afterwards, which is really nice since my personal masseuse rarely does his job. The baby is also more active. She still likes to hang out on the right of my tummy, which causes me to be a bit unbalanced on that side. She also has started kicking at both ends of my stomach at once, which sometimes gives me a bit of a fright when I think that she’s sleeping.

The only issues I have had so far in my pregnancy is a couple leg cramps and my breast are a little red. They usually look a bit sunburnt and are quite warm. I ended up doing an ultrasound but they were all was clear. Apparently this must be normal for me during pregnancy, even though no one else I know has had the same symptom. It doesn’t hurt so it doesn’t bother me. I guess going from a 12B to a 14DD is going to cause some discomfort. I have just recently bought my 3rd lot of maternity bra’s so I am hoping this is it now. Fingers crossed!

This past month has been a really positive turnaround after the hard year I’ve had. In the first week of December I received a High Distinction on my post grad course, a few of my recipes were published in The Goodness Magazine and I won Therese Kerr’s competition and will soon receive one of her organic certified gift packs.

Another big event for Marco and I this month was our All in One Party Extravaganza to celebrate our Baby Shower, Marco’s 30th, our Engagement and our Housewarming. So last Saturday night we held a big party at our place, catering for about 55 family and friends.

The menu was vegan/vegetarian and surprisingly received positive reviews from all the guests. I don’t think I invited one vegetarian, but everyone loved the food. I had Vegerama cater the vegan main meals, which included Satay Vegetable Curry, Massaman Curry, Basmati Rice Lasagne, Mousakka, Chickpea Pesto Salad and Kofta balls (frebee). The food was excellent and I would definitely recommend them. I also catered the appetizers, most of the buffet, and some desserts.

DSC03263

For appetizers I made my Cheesy Brown Lentil Hummus, and Chef Chloe’s Mushroom Turnovers (recipe) and Sweet and Sour Party Meatballs (recipe). Unfortunately I was so busy cooking and answering the door I didn’t get a chance to take any photos. Probably the most popular of the three was the Mushroom Turnovers. Those took me an entire evening to prep a few days before but they were so worth it.

For the buffet I made a Cheesy Pasta bake, Eggplant salad with Tahini Sumac Dressing (recipe – I prefer to fry it), Chef Chloe’s Minted Couscous with Rocket, Butternut Squash and Raisins (recipe) ; and Foccaccia made from scratch topped with cherry tomatoes and black olives.I got the most complements for the Pasta bake, which no one could believe was dairy free and also for the Eggplant Salad, which always goes down well. Maria’s sister made Prebranac (Serbian baked beans) and Kifli filled with feta. This bread was probably more popular then my foccaccia on the night.

DSC03260

Eggplant salad with Tahini Sumac Dressing

DSC03259

Minted Couscous with Rocket, Butternut Squash and Raisins

DSC03261DSC03255For desserts I made two of Angela Liddon (Oh she glows) Double Layered Chocolate Fudge Cakes. I previously made a trial run the week before and everyone loved it so much that I knew my guests would love it too. Marco’s sister made this no bake vegan cake filled with layers of walnuts, coconut. She also designed this beautiful outer casing with a sugar baby on top. My mother bought a Torta Romana for Marco 30th, my friend Robyn made this adorable fruit platter, my friend Hanh made these beautiful macaroons and velvet cupcakes, another friend Azra made baklava and my neighbor Matilda brought these homemade Italian biscotti. So we had a pretty impressive dessert table as well. To be honest I did want to keep the desserts dairy free, but in the end it was nice for friends and family to bring something and everyone enjoyed trying a bit of everything.

DSC03284

DSC03279

Double Layered Chocolate Fudge Cakes

DSC03292DSC03291DSC03278DSC03277DSC03281DSC03283DSC03282All in all the party was a huge success. Everyone had a great time and mingled well. They all certainly ate well! We were also fortunately to receive many green baby gifts from a gift registry I set up with Biome Eco Store as well as many generous donations to our baby fund.

DSC03288

P1060913 DSC03315DSC03357DSC03379DSC03375Now I have to get ready for Christmas…

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Week 20 to 25

Leave a Reply

