Sweet Potato Sage Risotto with Hazelnut ‘Parmesan’

Now that I know the secret to making a good risotto it is one of my favourite midweek meals to make. I have never made it with sweet potato or sage before and to be honest I was a bit worried how it was going to turn out. However this has to be one of the best risotto’s I’ve ever made. I was worried that the sweet potato would be Β too sweet, but it rather completed the risotto rather then overpowering it. The sage also gave the risotto a really nice aromatic flavour. With the addition of hazelnut ‘parmesan’ it was a winning combination.

What’s your favourite ingredients to add to Risotto?

DSC02000

Sweet Potato Sage Risotto with Hazelnut ‘Parmesan’ (vegan, gluten free, soy free)

Ingredients:

3 medium sweet potatoes (about 3 cups), peeled and roughly chopped

2 tablespoons hazelnuts

2 tablespoons nutritional yeast

sea salt to taste

2 tablespoons olive oil

2 cups risotto

1 large brown onion, diced

2 garlic cloves, diced

1/2 cup white wine

1 litre boiling vegetable stock (I used steamer water andΒ Marigold Swiss Bouillon Powder)

20 sage leaves, roughly chopped

Method:

1. Steam the sweet potato. Once it is cooked set aside and mash.

2. In the meantime place the hazelnuts and nutritional yeast in a coffee grinder. Grind into a flour and add sea salt to taste.

2. Heat olive oil in a large pot, then add risotto. Toast the risotto for a minute, then add the onion and garlic. Saute for another minute.

3. Add the white wine and allow it to absorb into the rice. Stir continuously.

4. Ladle spoons of boiling vegetable stock into the pot, one at a time. Allowing the rice to absorb the stock and before adding another ladle. Stir continuously. After you add a couple of ladles of stock, add the sage leaves.

5. Once the rice is just about cooked, add the mashed sweet potato and stir through. Adjust the seasoning with sea salt to taste.

6. Serve the risotto topped with a generous couple of spoons of the Hazelnut ‘Parmesan’

*Serves 6

DSC01998

To complement the risotto I made a great big salad with fresh organic lettuce, kale, pea sprouts, cherry tomatoes, cucumber and red onion. To dress it I used my homemade Sun-dried Tomato Basil and Almond Pesto.

Pesto is also my new weekly obsession. Every week when I go to the Farmers Market I get a big bunch of basil and just blend it with olive oil, nutritional yeast and what ever nuts I have on hand. It’s great to use as a spreads, salad dressings, to add to sauces, etc. Actually tonight I used the remaining pesto to give my homemade burgers an extra kick. I am too tired to post that recipe tonight, so it will be coming out soon.

DSC01982

17 thoughts on “Sweet Potato Sage Risotto with Hazelnut ‘Parmesan’

  1. that’s a fab one! made sense to me: after all, pumpkin risotto is a great pick, so why shouldn’t the similarly mildly sweet, beta-carotene rich sweet potato work any worse πŸ™‚ sage is a great pairing too.

    my fave risotto ingredients would be porcini mushrooms or pumpkin. as for vegan parmesan, I use either ground cashews or almond flour scented with garlic and a mix of different ground peppers for the sharpness of taste similar to real parmeggiano.

    • Thanks Calypse, I love porcini mushrooms with risotto, its not as pretty but tastes very good. Your recipe for vegan parmesan also sounds good. I haven’t added garlic and pepper to mine before, I will have to try that too.

      • ha, yeah, porcini risotto looks a bit dirty πŸ˜‰ topping it with a few fresh herbs helps.

        my best pepper “friend” is a white pepper variety. it has such a strong, almost musky flavour, it helps create a very powerful taste where noone ever asks if it’s vegetarian or vegan, it’s just WHOA πŸ˜‰

  2. Looks delicious! I just made a cauliflower ‘risotto’ but for traditional risottos, my favourite ingredient to add would have to be wild mushrooms and fresh thyme. Yours looks amazing and I love sage so much, it must have really brought this to risotto to new heights.
    Sophia πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Sophia. i still haven’t tried to make cauliflower risotto, but its on my to do list! Marco ordered a curry with cauliflower rice at a Paleo restaurant a while back and it was really nice and light. I love risotto with mushrooms, but Marco isn’t such a fan. But wild mushrooms and thyme sound delish!

  3. Pingback: Winter Warm Risottos | Live Blissful

Leave a Reply

