Sprouted Chickpea Peanut Butter Hummus

I rarely eat spouted legumes. I know they are really healthy, but they just don’t taste good to me. Marco really doesn’t like them. The first time I used them to make a salad for him to take to work he came home very upset that I would give him something so horrible. So since then I haven’t dared buy them again. However, I saw some chickpeas at the market yesterday and I thought why not give them another chance. I had only tried sprouted mung beans and lentils previously, but never chickpeas. Surely they couldn’t be that bad. We as it turns out they aren’t that bad, but also not that good either.

I was going to use them to make a salad. But I had second thoughts, after trying a few of these crunchy little guys. Instead I tried to make hummus. I used all my tahini earlier this week, so I thought if Nigella can make Peanut Butter hummus then so can I. It did take a while for the chickpeas to break down and all the ingredients to mix well in the processor, but once they did it came together really nicely. Unlike traditional hummus, this one had quite a bit of texture like any nutty dip.  I really liked the flavour. Its a lot different to a cooked chickpea hummus, but just as satisfying.

I paired the hummus with a salad, made from other fresh ingredients I bought from the Brisbane City Market and South Brisbane People’s Market. I usually visit the City Market every Wednesday before and after work. But this was my first visit to the South Brisbane market, during my lunch break today. Silly me didn’t realise that I left my wallet on my desk, so I had to run back up the hill to get my wallet and back down to pay and then back up again to log in my phone in 13 mins. I was determined though so I made it with 3 mins to spare.  I  just couldn’t believe how cheap the food was, especially since it was organic. I’m kicking myself I didn’t buy more. I only got a couple of bunches of kale, 3 zucchini, 4 cucumber and 5 red apples for $7.80. It was cost me triple to buy pesticide ridden week old food from the supermarket.

By the way, only one more sleep till I get the keys to my new house!

???????????????????????????????

Sprouted Chickpea Peanut Butter Hummus (vegan, raw, gluten free, soy free)

Ingredients:

1 cup sprouted chickpeas

2 garlic cloves (crushed)

3-4 tablespoons peanut butter

3 tablespoons lemon juice

4 tablespoons olive oil

3 tablespoons filtered water

2 tablespoons ground cumin

1 teaspoon sweet hungarian paprika

1 teaspoon ground coriander

sea salt to taste

Method:

1. Place chickpeas into the processor. Blend until they break down a little.

2. Add the remaining ingredients. Continue to blend until smooth and creamy.

*Makes 1 cup

???????????????????????????????

10 thoughts on “Sprouted Chickpea Peanut Butter Hummus

Leave a Reply

