Coco Bliss Superfood Bar

Hi all, hope you had a lovely week. Guess what only 5 more sleeps till we get the keys to our new home! We spent most of the weekend window shopping for different furniture, accessories and kitchen equipment. We have had to refrain from spending till we know what actually going to go. I’ve only seen the house twice so its a bit hard to remember most of the ins and outs. However, I couldn’t help myself today, when I saw these Anna Gare Retro Juice Tumblers.

???????????????????????????????

Since I didn’t see Marco all week and then found out he look another shift on his day off, he agreed to take me anywhere of my choosing. So I choose a new place that just opened less then a month ago. Coco Bliss Superfood Bar is located on Oxford Street, Bulimba. They cater for the health conscious and health junkies alike.  They offer smoothies, frappes, protein shakes, pressed juices, organic coffees, acai bowls, pink pitaya bowls, muesli fruit salad bowls, raw/baked desserts and salads and rice paper rolls. They have plenty of vegan, gluten-free and raw-food options and are 80% organic and refined sugar free. Besides using fresh ingredients, they also infuse their fares with superfoods such as Acai, Coconut water Lucuma and Goji Berries, for an extra nutritional kick to your smoothie or breakfast bowl.

???????????????????????????????

We arrived at about 2pm for some afternoon tea. We were both really tired and needed an afternoon pick-me-up. I couldn’t believe how busy they were. It was just as constant flow of people stopping by for juices and smoothies.  Luckily most weren’t staying, so we managed to get a seat at the bar. Apparently we spotted someone famous too. See the guy with his girl ordering at the counter. Marco thinks it may be the Australian, Jesse Williams, who now plays NRL in the US. I didn’t notice, I was too busy trying to choose something to order. I was only going to have a drink, but refined sugar free desserts, who can walk past that?

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

DSC07230

I ended up ordering the Acai Berry Iced Coffee. I had never heard of it before, which made me all the more curious. It had organic acai berry coffee and coconut water. Marco also wanted a something cool and caffeine infused, so he ordered the Mocha Frappe, which contained banana, medjool dates, cacao, espresso and cinnamon. They were both really nice and light and really gave us that jolt we needed. I quite liked the taste of the acai berry coffee, its not bitter at all. Its quite mild and similar to coffee. Marco’s smoothie was a little bitter, but luckily on the bar there was some natural sweeteners for customers to utilise. I think one was honey and the other maple syrup. So he added a couple of swigs and for the perfect sweet balance.

???????????????????????????????

On the side I ordered this Vegan Chocolate Muffin. Normally I would order a raw vegan cheesecake or bliss ball, but I was really craving a chocolate muffin with sweet icing. This really hit the spot. It was moist and sweet and the icing was really delicious. Of course the one that didn’t want anything else had to eat half of my muffin. Next time we order two!

???????????????????????????????

Marco and I really liked this place and would definitely return. Looking forward to dropping in for an Acai or Muesli bowl or to try another one of there super smoothies and healthy desserts.

Have you been here? What did you think?

Other recent vegan eat include:

Choc Strawberry Chia Pudding with Coconut Yoghurt from Raw ‘n Juicy, Brisbane CBD.

IMG_20131108_075926

Veganised Morning Bruschetta with beans from Bare Bones Society, Jindalee, Brisbane.

1025422_10152001403807292_1130354127_o

Leave a Reply

