Pumpkin Polenta with Caramelized Onion and Fennel with Cannellini Beans

I think I spoke to soon yesterday. The lovely humid weather I have described became cool and windy again today. At least I can still eat a cosy warm meal for dinner. This is the first time I have cooked with fennel. I was a little scared because it does have a really strong aniseed taste, but it becomes more muted the longer you cook it. I was going to add some fresh silver beet from my garden but it was all burned to a crisp from the sun. So I made some lightly steamed asparagus and broccolin instead.

Between making dinner tonight and juicing for tomorrow I think I used up all the vegetables in the fridge. Luckily its the Farmers Market in the city tomorrow. Past few of weeks I have been making a stop before or after work to pick up $2 bunches of kale, fresh ciabatta breads and all the fresh fruit and vege I can carry.

???????????????????????????????

Pumpkin PolentaΒ (vegan, gluten free, soy free, nut free)

Ingredients:

4 cups pumpkin (chopped)

1.5 cup filtered water (use steamer water)

2 tsp dry vegetable stock

2 cups oat/plant milk

1 cup polenta

sea salt to taste

Method:

1. Steam the pumpkin till soft.

2. Place the pumpkin, steamer water and stock into a blender and blend till smooth.

3. In a large pot add the blended pumpkin and the remaining ingredients. Bring to the boil, then cook on a simmer until the polenta is cooked. This should take about 10 minutes.

*Serves 4

Caramelized Onion and Fennel with Cannellini Beans and Shiitake MushroomsΒ (vegan, gluten free, soy free, nut free)

Ingredients:

1 tablespoon coconut oil

2 small onions, sliced

1 fennel bulb, sliced thin

2 garlic cloves, diced

1 small red capsicum, chopped

1/2 cup dry shiitake mushrooms, soaked in 1 cup water

1 tablespoon dry sherry (optional)

1 can cannellini beans

sea salt to taste

handful italian parsley (diced)

Method:

1. Melt coconut oil in a large pan, then add onion and fennel. Cook on a low heat for 5-7 minutes until it softens

2. Add the garlic and red capsicum and continue to cook Β for another 5 minutes so that the onions and fennel begin to caramelize

3. Add the shiitake mushrooms, mushroom stock and sherry. Continue to cook till the water absorbs.

4. Add the cannellini beans and sea salt and heat through.

5. Stir through italian parsley and serve immediately with pumpkin polenta and some steamed greens.

*Serves 4

???????????????????????????????

18 thoughts on “Pumpkin Polenta with Caramelized Onion and Fennel with Cannellini Beans

  1. This looks so yummy … I adore polenta but, being raised in an Italian household, we always had it with a tomato sauce. I love the idea of combining it with the beans and mushrooms … such great flavor combinations. By the way, on my blog this week, I’m challenging my readers to prepare and eat a vegan meal … it’s part of my Change The World Wednesday series. At the end of the post, I’ve included a link-up for vegan recipes and tips to help people along. I would love to see this recipe in the list … I know my readers would love it! If you have a minute, drop by! πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Smallftprints πŸ™‚ I too grew up in an Italian household, but we never ate polenta, not sure why. We never had it with family in Italy either. Maybe because we are from the south or because of the dairy. Anyway I have to make up for lost time now πŸ™‚
      Thanks for letting me know about your blog challenge. I will drop this one in πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

