(Cookbook Project) Energise Your Life – Asparagus, bean curd and mushrooms

I’m still determined to finish cooking my way through Energise Your Life. This recipe is another one of the Sustaining Dinners, which uses some ingredients that I have never tried before. As much as I love making up my own recipes, sometimes consulting cookbooks pushes me to us ingredients that I have never tried or not familiar with.

Believe it or not I have never cooked or tasted Oyster Mushrooms. It was until more ???????????????????????????????recently that I have been experimenting with different types of mushrooms. Now I can’t believe what I’ve been missing all this time. Oyster Mushrooms are tree mushrooms that are found around the world. They are used in a variety of cuisines, but you ???????????????????????????????can find the variety I have used in Asian Grocery stores. The taste is a little different to a regular mushroom. They are very delicate and have a mild flavor, which easily soak up the flavors of other ingredients. Compared to other mushrooms these ones a bit more pricer, but are worth the cost. For this recipe I needed 250 g, however I only bought a pack that had 150g. So I also added half a 250g jar of Oyster Mushrooms that I got for Aldi (for $0.99). Obviously the jar ones didn’t taste like the fresh and they were a bit dark, but once they were cooked it was hard to tell the difference. The real test is that Marco really loved these mushroom. In recent times he has put up with my mushrooms but he usually dreads them.

Another new ingredient I have never tried is Dry Sherry. I  have seen heaps of recipes that??????????????????????????????? call for Sherry. I have been looking in the supermarket for a while, but never saw it.  I didn’t realize that it was too alcoholic to put in the supermarket. Well that’s because unlike other states we can’t buy alcohol in the supermarkets. I ended up finding it in Dan Murphy’s. There were so many to buy, but I decided on this Spanish brand. Also a bit pricer then I thought, but it was really worth the addition to this dish. It gave the most amazing flavor to this stir fry.

This stir fry includes bean curd, leek, oyster mushrooms, asparagus. It was a really nice light stir fry that had great flavors and left us feeling really light after.

The recipe book gives this recipe a 4 out of 5 star rating for energy. The ingredients contain Vit B, folate, biotin, calcium, iron, magnesium and zinc. This recipe benefits the immune, circulatory and nervous system, skin, hair, bones and soft tissue.

???????????????????????????????

Asparagus, bean curd and mushrooms (vegan, gluten free, nut free)

To make this stir fry I first heated a couple of tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil. Then added 225g Bean Curd, cut in cubes. After heating that for a couple of minutes I added a sliced leek and cooked that for a further couple of minutes.

???????????????????????????????

After that I added 1 clove of garlic (diced), 1 tsp of fresh ginger and 250 g oyster mushrooms (whole) and cooked them until the water came out of them. This took a few minutes as they were released a lot of water. Then I added a brunch of aspargus (chopped),  2 tablespoons soy sauce, 2 tablespoons dry sherry and 100ml vegan chicken stock. The recipe calls for vegetable stock or water, but this worked well to and you would never know there was no chicken in there. Then I covered the wok and allowed it to cook until the asparagus was tender.

???????????????????????????????

After that I added 1 tsp corn flour (dissolved in a little stock) to the wok and cooked that until it thickened.

???????????????????????????????

The recipe called to be served with noodles, so I just soaked some Bean Thread noodles in some hot water. I then strained it and added some soy sauce and oyster sauce for flavor.

???????????????????????????????

.

5 thoughts on “(Cookbook Project) Energise Your Life – Asparagus, bean curd and mushrooms

  1. I love mushroom, especially the Asian/Chinese one, have you try one of this called ‘king oyster mushroom or chicken drumstick mushroom’ they are so delicious, the texture are so good, highly recommend it! 🙂

      • Not much prepare work to do, only use damp cloth to wipe it. Is it expensive in Australia ? In England, it cost about £1.79 for 100g. So, I only buy the tinned one from Asian supermarket, about £1 for a tinned.

Leave a Reply

