Tropical Veggie Pizza with Cashew ‘Mozzarella’

As much as I still enjoy pizza without the cheese there is one thing that still bugs me. I can’t manage to get my ingredients to stay on top of the pizza. Even when I have tried using pre-bought vegan cheeses, the ingredients  still slide off and don’t stick the way that regular dairy cheese does. Ok its probably partly my fault. Even though I love real Italian pizza with minimal topping, I just can’t help myself from adding when I make my own pizza. So my pizza ends up so heavy that I have to eat it with a knife and fork. Marco does the same, but his cheese manages to keep his together.

A couple of days back Marco decided we were having pizza, which is always a good since he likes to make the dough himself. He preferred using white flour, but luckily we only had lots wholemeal and a little bit of tipo 00 flour to use. I didn’t have any vegan mozzarella so I got online trying to find a cheesy alternative for my pizza. I remembered seeing Vedged Out’s recipe for Fresh Moxarella Cheese. I also found another similar recipe from Vegie Project, Cashew “mozzarella”. I decided to go with the Vegie Project recipe since it Nutritional Yeast.

I was really easy recipe to follow. I just put everything in the Vitamix, then heated the mixture over the stove. The recipe makes enough for 2 large pizzas. The consistency and taste is similar to other vegan cheesy sauces, but the color is much lighter. It also has a stringly texture, which is similar to melted cheese. The recipe is gluten and soy free as well.

To make sure that my ingredients stuck to the pizza I put some Cashew ‘Mozzarella’ under the ingredients as well as on top. I didn’t cover the whole pizza it in, rather I tried to drizzle it around the pizza. The ingredients I used include red capsicum, yellow capsicum, green capsicum, red onion, garlic, cherry tomatoes, pineapple, mushrooms and tuscan kale.

I was really happy with the result of my pizza. The cheese managed to hold just about all the ingredients in place and the taste was really nice and creamy. I let Marco taste mine and even he agreed it was pretty good for a vegan pizza and would be happy to have that ‘next  time’.

DSC06472

Tropical Veggie Pizza with Cashew ‘Mozzarella’ (vegan, gluten free option, soy free)

Ingredients for Pizza:

1 wholemeal pizza base (or gluten free pizza base)

2-3 tablespoons homemade/bottled pasta sauce

variety red capsicum,  yellow capsicum and green capsicum, chopped

red onion, diced

garlic, diced

cherry tomatoes, halved

pineapple, chopped

mushrooms, sliced

tuscan kale, sliced

Ingredients for Cashew ‘Mozzarella’ (enough for 2 pizzas):

1/4 cup cashew nuts

1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk

1/2 cup water

2 tablespoons nutritional yeast

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice

2 tablespoons arrowroot flour (tapioca starch)

1 small garlic clove, minced

1 tablespoon olive oil

Method:

1. Preheat the oven to 250 degrees.???????????????????????????????

2. Place all in the ingredients for the Cashew ‘Mozzarella’ in the Vitamix or high speed blender. Blend until smooth.  Then heat mixture in a small pot for 3-5 minutes until the mixture has thickened. Stir constantly while it is cooking.

3. Roll out pizza dough, then spoon on pasta sauce on the base. Drizzle or blob some Cashew Mozzarella on the base as well.???????????????????????????????

4. Top with the rest of the ingredients. Add some more Cashew mozzarella in blobs ontop if you like.

5. Bake pizza for 15 min or until base is cooked.

???????????????????????????????

28 thoughts on “Tropical Veggie Pizza with Cashew ‘Mozzarella’

  1. SCORE! I’m so happy to hear this as I’ve been pizza-less for far too long in my GF/DF life that I started 6 months ago and while I’ve made cashew ricotta, I love hearing that it can be made ooey-gooey as well 🙂 Sweet! thanks!

    • No problem EcoGrrl. I originally went gf/df before trying vegan a while back. I remember feeling depressed that I couldn’t eat anything because I never knew about substitutes for my favorite foods. Over the past few years I’ve learned heaps, but still discovering new things to try. Best part is I can enjoy things now without feeling guilty now 🙂

  2. Fantastic mozzarella recipe! Definitely hearing you in regards to ingredients falling off without cheese (never thought about cheese being a ‘bonding mechanism’ on pizza until I experimented with dairy-free alternatives!). Great that Marco likes making the dough. Looks fabulously crispy and thin-crusted (my favourite!). Hope that work etc is going ok for you lovely! xx

    • Thanks Laura, I found heaps of great recipes from the Veggie Project. Yes I have come to realise that I took cheese for granted before and sometimes it still makes me sad that I will never have a pizza again with cheese. But when I find good substitutes I feel better because I know I can eat a pizza once a week without any guilty feeling. Until I had to remove this kind of stuff from my diet I found I actually enjoy more foods and don’t worry about putting on weight anymore. Yeah he’s come much longer way then me in regards to food. I am really proud of him accepting the change. I still try to push him to cook with me in the kitchen, but like he says he does all the ‘other stuff’ like pick up the dogs business and vacuuming the house lol Work is going really well, I just got my first Customer Servive Award from a customer comment 🙂 Hope everything is good for you on the other side and still praying for your friends xo

      • Oh well done on the award lovely!! Yay! I’m sure that’ll be the first of many. It’s so nice to get positive feedback from the effort that you put in 🙂
        Aaron doesn’t help in the kitchen either. He offers, half-heartedly, but he prefers to just do the washing up or other such things. I love cooking so I don’t mind 🙂
        I’m so glad that the switch to vegan has been working so well for you. It’s wonderful to be able to eat and enjoy, knowing that the food you’re eating is actually doing your body good! You’re a fantastically adaptable cook so Marco is lucky, you’re giving him a beautifully varied vegan diet!
        Thanks for praying for Kendall and Brett. I’m really, really thankful and I know that they are too. Otherwise, I’m going really well! Life is busy but good; Aaron and I keep plodding along with work etc. Planning our next holiday but it’s probably not going to happen til next year now. Ah well. I’m sure Christmas will be here before we know it! xx

  3. I made your cashew mozarella for a vegan pizza party last weekend and it was great. The leftovers were nice grilled on toast too. Thanks for sharing this recipe. 🙂

Leave a Reply

