Family Sunday Lunch

Over the weekend we moved back to my place for a few weeks. Since we won’t be seeing Marcos mother for a little while she wanted to make one of her traditional Serbian dishes for myself and my family. She made Sarma or Serbian Cabbage Rolls. These are made of rice, vegetables and pork mince, wrapped in sour cabbage and baked with smoked pork ribs and served with sour cream or Greek yogurt. Well that’s the regular version. Sally has never made a vegetarian version, but she made a batch especially for me. She just cooked the garlic, onion, leek and red capsicum with the rice and wrapped them in sour cabbage and baked them without ribs.???????????????????????????????

My vegetarian Sarma was delicious! I’ve tried her pork ones before and to be honest they taste pretty much the same. It is the sour cabbage and the sweet Hungarian paprika that gives the particular flavor, so you don’t really need any meat at all. Unfortunatey  I wasn’t around when she made them, but learning this recipe is on my to do list!

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

Since I couldn’t have the Greek Yogurt I made a Lime Cashew Sour Cream. It was just as good as the real stuff. Unfortunately I haven’t got a Sarma recipe for you, since I wasn’t there when she made it.  But it is on my to do list. The Lime Cashew Sour Cream recipe is coming up in the next post.

???????????????????????????????

The same day my mother’s partner, Ted brought over these amazing pickled vegetables. He made them for me under the watchful eyes of his old Mauritian mother. I’ve always loved their pickled vegetables, which are spiced with mustard seeds and turmeric. I definitely need the recipe for this.

???????????????????????????????

Since I didn’t really do much for lunch I was on desserts. I kind of left it to the last minute and grabbed my favorite dessert book, Chloe’s Vegan Desserts. I made Raspberry Coffee Cake. Marco believes this is the best vegan cake I have ever made. It was so moist and flavorsome and the pecan topping gave a beauty crispy texture. Definitely one of those I-can-believe-this-is vegan desserts.

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

.

Leave a Reply

