Roasted Cauliflower, Beets, Capsicum and Chickpeas with Tahini Sumac Dressing

As promised another recipe with cauliflower. I just love roasted cauliflower. It doesn’t have that bitter flavor that steamed cauliflower has. I usually make roasted vegetables with potatoes, pumpkins and other root vegetables. But this variation was really nice change and the dressing gave it a bit more zing.

???????????????????????????????

Roasted Cauliflower, Beets, Capsicum and Chickpeas with Tahini Sumac Dressing (vegan, gluten free, soy free, nut free)

Ingredients:

olive oil

1 large beetroot, sliced

1/2 large cauliflower, chopped

1 red capsicum, sliced

1 tin chickpeas

handful of italian parsley, chopped

sea salt & black pepper to taste

Ingredients for Tahini Sumac Sauce:

1 whole garlic head

3 tablespoons unhulled tahini

2 tablespoons lemon

handful of italian parsley

1 teaspoon sumac

2 teaspoons ground cumin

1 teaspoon ground cayenne pepper

1/4 cup olive oil

1/4 cup water

sea salt to taste

Method:

1. Preheat the oven to 180 degrees.

2. Place beetroot in a baking dish and toss with olive oil. Bake for 20 minutes or until tender.

3. Add cauliflower, capsicum and whole garlic, drizzle with more olive oil. Bake for a further 20 minutes or until the vegetables have cooked. Remove the whole garlic once it has softened.

4. In the meantime add all the ingredients to the blender. Also peel roasted garlic and add to the process and blend.

5. Add a tin of chickpeas to the baking dish and cook vegetables for a further few minutes, then remove from the oven.

6. Toss the vegetables with the dressing, parsley and season with sea salt & black pepper before serving.

*Serves 4 as a side dish.

???????????????????????????????

On the side I made Syndian Asian Bean and Kumera Patties. This was the first Syndian product that I have tried and it wasn’t too bad. It really tasted homemade, which is probably because it had all real ingredients in it. The only thing that it needed was a sauce, as I found it was a little dry, but otherwise not to bad.

14 thoughts on “Roasted Cauliflower, Beets, Capsicum and Chickpeas with Tahini Sumac Dressing

    • Thanks Celeste! This is my first time combining them, but I really like it. I have also seen cauliflower and chickpea soup which sounds really good too. Its also great with corn I discovered last night 🙂

  1. Oh yummmm! This gorgeous roasted vegetable mix has most of my favourite things in it, particularly the beetroot and the sumac. Beautiful photos too. It’s quite exciting for me to be behind on my blog reading as I get to catch up on lots of wonderful recipes at once, haha. I can’t believe you’ve managed so many updates between work, argh! Superwoman, methinks xx

    • Thanks Laura! Well the week I made this I was at my place and Marco was working when I was cooking so I had more time. This week I’ve been back at Marcos so haven’t had all my ingredients and cooking utensils on hand so haven’t been posting at all. He’s kitchen is also really cool and it puts me off lol. I just checked out your blog recent, since I’ve been behind too. So many lovely new recipes, I especially love your brownies! You must cook quite early or you have a longer day there. When I get home its already dark and freezing at 5.45. I’m so over winter. Since I started working I only see the sun on the weekends.

      • It’s dark and freezing early over here too. I mostly do my cooking on the weekend (I try to accumulate two or three post-worthy dishes on the weekend… I usually fail!) or I try and do my photography first thing in the morning before I leave for work. I live 10 minutes from the office so I can leave home about 7.50 and still get to work on time! I know what you mean about switching kitchens. I cooked at my mum’s place a couple of weeks ago and I felt completely lost! I’ve loved all of your newish posts. Such good warming food for winter! xx

  2. Pingback: Winter Warm Risottos | Live Blissful

Leave a Reply

