Cauliflower Cheezy Thyme Pie

Hope you all had a great weekend. Mine was pretty quiet. I was pretty hungover all Saturday after work drinks on Friday night. I haven’t drank more then a glass for over a year so I was a bit out of practice. I did go on one vegan adventure last night to Freestyle Tout. Last time I had a vegan dessert there I wasn’t too impressed. My chocolate avocado mousse was so dark, it was uneatable. But this time was a big difference. I had a Vegan Hazelnut Cake with Hazelnut Chocolate Sauce, Vanilla Cocolusious Vegan Ice cream. It was amazing and on pare with the regular desserts they offer.

???????????????????????????????

Tonight I wanted to make some kind of pie, because its so cold here. I decided on cauliflower because I had two and a half of them in my fridge. Why so much? Well I already had a half and then both mum and I went shopping again with out telling the other. So expect to see more cauliflower recipes this week.

I have never liked cauliflower, but they are growing on my. Marco still doesn’t like them. But we both loved this cauliflower pie. All three of us had seconds and I am looking forward to taking this to work. Marco even commented that it looks like something he would have at a vegan restaurant with the sprout salad. This can be made gluten free and soy free with gluten free puff pastry and almond or oat milk. The nutritional yeast isn’t essential, but definitely makes it more cheezy and delicious.

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

Cauliflower Cheezy Thyme Pie (vegan, gluten free option, soy free, nut free)

Ingredients:

1 tablespoon olive oil, plus more to brush pastry

1 medium onion, diced

2 garlic cloves, diced

1/2 large cauliflower, chopped

1 large potato, grated

1 cup unsweetnered plant milk (rice or oat; almond or soy if you can tolerate)

1 tablespoon fresh thyme leaves

1/2 cup nutritional yeast

2-3 teaspoons sea salt

black pepper to taste

2 sheets of frozen puff pastry (or gluten free puff pastry)

Method:

1. Preheat the oven to 180 degrees.???????????????????????????????

2. Heat a nonstick pot with olive oil, then saute onion and garlic for a few minutes or until it softens.

3. Add cauliflower and grated potato and saute for a 5 minutes. Stir continuously so the potato doesn’t stick to the bottom.

4. Add soy milk, thyme, sea salt and black pepper. Cook for 10 minutes or until the cauliflower has softened.???????????????????????????????

5. Add nutritional yeast and stir through. Add more salt if you need.???????????????????????????????

6. Place a defrosted puff pastry sheet in the base of a 9 inch pie pan.

7. Fill the pastry with the cauliflower mixture.

8. Top with another sheet of puff pastry and tick in the edges around the sides.

9. Brush pastry with olive oil and then bake for 30 mins or until pastry is cooked.

*Serves 6

???????????????????????????????

15 thoughts on “Cauliflower Cheezy Thyme Pie

  1. I’m not really like cauliflower either, but the pie looks good! 🙂
    We have a hot weather weekend in England, up to about 30°C or more somewhere. And we have a big barbecue here, lovely!

  2. Amazing. I could eat that pie right out of the screen. Great idea to use nooch in the ‘cheesy cauliflower’ filling. I reckon that my husband might like this, even though he sticks his nose up at nutritional yeast now (the problem is that I started with parmesan in my kale salad, which he loved, and then I switched to nutritional yeast a few weeks after. He didn’t detect it at first, but then he saw me adding the powdered yeast and that was it! I think it’s partly because the name sounds weird… which I understand. Oh well. I’m definitely trying this recipe!) x

    • Thanks Laura! I am so in love with in. Marco wasn’t at first but he has begun to love it too. I haven’t tried it in salad before. I tried adding it on pizza as a parmesan substitute and I didn’t mind i but Marco really did lol. I have made Vegan parmesan with ground nutritional yeast and cashew/brazil nuts. I guarantee he would love that combination. The nuts give it a kind of creaminess that cheese has. It is also harder to detect when you cook it as well. Its true what they say though, you have to try something 10 times before you get a taste for it. I use this approach with Marco and his niece and nephew with nutritional yeast and they all came around eventually lol. If he really doesn’t like the look of it perhaps put it in a jar and call it a spice x

      • Hahaa! I love the idea of putting it in a jar as ‘spice’, I’m going to try that 🙂 Love the idea of your vegan parmesan. Yum! Aaron loves brazil nuts so I’ll have to try that one, sounds like it’ll be a winner! x

  3. Pingback: Winter Warm Risottos | Live Blissful

Leave a Reply

