Vege Rama Revisited and Botanica

On Friday night I was in the city after work and decided to check out the Vege Rama in the CBD Myers Center. It’s becoming a habit that on Friday afternoon that I go to Vege Rama. Last week I went to the Adelaide Street store and picked up some delicious salads and Apple and Rhubarb crumble to bring home for Marco and I for dinner. I am a huge fan of theirs now and crave their food all week.

???????????????????????????????

The store in the Myers center is not completely vegan, like the Adelaide Street location. However they do offer lots of vegan options. I decided to try their Masala Dosa and Ginger Mint Drink. I have never tried a Dosa before. I love Masala Naan and use to get that back pre-dairy free days. But this was so much better. Dosa is a Indian crepe made of rice and lentils and can be ordered plain or with some filling. I got the mash potato and pea filling. It also came with sambhar dahl, tamarind sauce, and some tomato herb chutney. It was amazing! Just thinking about it is making me hungry now. I can’t wait to go back and get another one of these. The Mint and Ginger drink was also really nice as well. I have had this at Hare Krishna restaurants before, but their recipe has to be the best I’ve tried. My photo doesn’t do the size of this Dosa justice either, it was huge and really filling.

???????????????????????????????

Today, before we dropped Marco’s nephew home we visited a new discovery, Botanica at Red Hill. This is a healthy takeaway store that sells delicious gourmet salads, fresh baguettes and sour dough loafs and amazing sweets baked goods. All their salads are vegetarian and most are vegan and gluten free. They also make a vegan Brownie with coconut caramel. This is what actually caught my attention when I saw them online and the reason for our visit. Unfortunately they didn’t have any today. As the person who makes them is off at the moment.

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

We ended up getting a combination of 3 salads takeaway, which included Baby pea and potato salad with fresh dill and green tahini dressing; Chickpeas and roasted eggplant with garam masala, chilli, parsley and mint cashew dressing; and Wild Rice, pumpkin, roast peppers, onion and baby spinach with gluten free soy and coriander dressing. I didn’t get to have any dessert, but Marco made sure he didn’t leave empty handed and got an array of different baked goods. The girl in the store said the vegan Brownies should be back in a couple of weeks, but I can call next time to check.

???????????????????????????????

I will definitely be visiting these guys again. The salads were delicious. Marco and the kids can also vouch that the baked goods were amazing too!

6 thoughts on “Vege Rama Revisited and Botanica

  1. Love VegeRama! I have visited their Adelaide Street store many times 🙂 they make a delicious vegan chocolate cake, probably one of the best I have had 🙂

    • I have never seen their chocolate cake, do you mean the raw cheesecake or an acutally cake? Everything is delicious there. I wish they were open on the weekends, it would be worth the trip in.

    • I definetely will be making a special trip. I was really impressed by their store. I am still on my search for Brisbanes best vegan brownie. So far Green Edge is undefeated. Do you recommend any other places for vegan sweets?

  2. Botanica looks lovely! The salads look amazing. That is a shame about the brownies. Maybe someone else there should learn how to make them too!

    I love the look of your dosa too! You are making me hungry. 🙂

    • Its really refreshing to see a place like this in Brisbane, most I’m over sumo salads and stuff like that. I hope someone does as well. The owner who usually makes them is off pregnant and the chefs were both sick, so not sure who is making the rest but hope they learn too 🙂

Leave a Reply

