(Cookbook Project) Energise Your Life – Carrot and almond jacket potatoes with herb salad

Tonight I made another recipe from Energise Your Life. This is a really easy recipe to make and very filling. According to the book this recipe has Vitamin C & E, calcium, iron, essential fatty acids and is beneficial to the heart and circulatory system. I was quite liked the sweet carrots on top of the jacket potatoes. Marco thought that the potatoes needed a sauce. I served it with a the Herb salad and some steamed corn.

???????????????????????????????

For the carrot and almond jacket potatoes, I stuck to the recipe. To make the potatoes I first scrubbed the dirt off them and then covered them in olive oil. Then I baked them whole for over an hour. For the carrots, I cut them julienne and then sauteed them in olive oil for a few minutes, before adding chopped almonds. After sauteing them together for a few more minutes, I added orange zest, maple syrup and sea salt. I cooked these down till the carrots were soft then topped the baked potatoes.

???????????????????????????????

I had to adapt the Herb salad as I couldn’t get most of the ingredients from my local shops. The recipe called for red lettuces, sorrel leaves, coriander,  dandelion leaves and beetroot leaves. I only used some Red Oak Lettuce and Beetroot leaves. For the Tarragon dressing I couldn’t get the main ingredient, the tarragon. So I used parsley instead. I also used only extra virgin olive oil instead of safflower oil. With the help of my vitamix, this dressing came out really light and delicious.

???????????????????????????????

Parsley Dressing (vegan, raw, gluten free, soy free, nut free)

Ingredients:

4 sprouts of Italian parsley

3 tablespoons olive oil

1 garlic clove

1/4 teaspoon sea salt

Method:

1. Blend all the ingredients in a blender until combined.

*Makes about 100 ml

2 thoughts on “(Cookbook Project) Energise Your Life – Carrot and almond jacket potatoes with herb salad

Leave a Reply

