Early birthday gift…

Hi all, hope you’ve had a lovely weekend. Mine has been nice and relaxing. I got my early birthday present this week from Mum and Marco. They both put in to get me a Vitamix! So I finally got to try it out last night and have been blending ever since.

Last night I made some cashew cream, which was so lovely and silky. It was much nicer then what my Kenwood blender usually produces, plus it didn’t leak, which was a bonus. I showed my mum, who is also dairy free, but not as strict as me that cashew cream can be used just like cream for pasta. She was amazed. Sorry no photos of the actually pasta, we were so hungry by the time it was ready.

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

I’ve only had a week of early mornings but my body clock has already changed which is great. This morning we got up early and went to the Northey Street Organic Markets at Windsor. We haven’t been here since before I went to Europe, which is over a year ago. I was really big on organics back then and am trying to get back into buying organic.

Before we left I made a special morning smoothie, with my garden Tuscan Kale. This is a Chocolate Peanut butter Kale Smoothie. I was delicious! Mum and Marco weren’t keen on the kale for breakfast, but they agreed it was a good way to get the kale in firs thing.

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

Chocolate Peanut butter Kale Smoothie (vegan, raw, gluten free, soy free)

Ingredients:

1/2 bunch tuscan kale

3 cups almond milk

2-3 tablespoon peanut butter

2 tablespoons cacao

2 tablespoons chia seeds

2 tablespoons agave or honey

Method:

1. Whiz all the ingredients in your blender until all the kale has broken down and the smoothie is nice and smooth. Then serve.

At the market I didn’t buy too much. Just two bunches of Red Russian Kale ($6 plus free bok choy), daikon, cherry tomatoes and sunflower sprouts. Unfortunately there was no more organic vegan brownies left, so we better be a bit earlier next time. I love these markets there are always so many interesting people and great food.

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

I did get to see this in action and it looks like hard work to earn your smoothie.

???????????????????????????????

I have seen purple carrots but never these golden ones before. Regretting now that I didn’t get any.

???????????????????????????????

There are also a communal veggie patch here and the grounds are quite nice too.  This is mum and Marco as we are leaving.

For dinner I thought I would try out a few more meals with my new Vitamix. These patties are similar to my Red Lentil Patties with Kale Pesto, but I used cannellini beans and sweet potato puree. I also tried to make my delicious Kale Pesto. As beautiful as it looks, it came out really bitter. I think next time I won’t use the stems. On the side I made this a delicious mash to make use of my green cauliflower and a sunflower sprout salad. So in love with my new Vitamax! So expect to see it around a lot more.

Do any of you guys have one?

???????????????????????????????

Cannellini Bean & Sweet Potato Patties (vegan, gluten free, soy free, nut free)

Ingredients:

2 medium sweet potatoes

1 tin cannellini beans

1 tablespoons grapeseed/olive oil

1 medium red onion

1 tablespoon cajun spices/other spices you prefer

sea salt to taste

1/2 cup quinoa crumbs (or other gluten free breadcrumbs)

1/2 cup sesame seeds

Method:

1. First cut and steam the sweet potato, until soft. Transfer into a bowl and place to the side.

2. Meanwhile,  preheat oven to 180 degrees  and heat a pan with olive oil. Saute the red onion and garlic for 5 mins or until the onion has softened.

3. All the  sweet potato, cannellini beans, red onion, garlic, cajun spices (or other spices)  and sea salt into the processor. Blend until smooth.

4. Place the mixture into a bowl then add quinoa crumbs and stir through the mixture.

5. Form the mixture into 10 patties. Place the sesame seeds in a small bowl and dust the patties in the sesame seeds.

6. Place patties on a nonstick cookie tray, then bake for 20-25 mins. Turn once while they are cooking so that the seasame seeds on both sides get a little browned.

*Makes 10 patties

???????????????????????????????

Green Cauliflower, Potato & Leek Mash (vegan, gluten free, soy free, nut free)

Ingredients:

1 small green cauliflower

3 potatoes

1 tablespoon grapeseed or olive oil

2 garlic cloves

1 leek

Method:

1. Cut the cauliflower and potato into small pieces, then place them in a steamer until tender.

2. Dice the garlic and chop the leek.

3. Heat a pan with oil, then saute the garlic and leek for 5 mins or until lightly browned.

4. Place cauliflower, potato, leek and garlic in the processor and blend until smooth.

5. Transfer into a pot and add sea salt to taste (and water if too thick). Heat through then serve.

*Serves 5-6

???????????????????????????????

Sunflower Sprout Orange Salad (vegan, raw, gluten free, soy free)

Ingredients:

2 handfuls of sunflower sprouts

1 handful snow pea sprouts

segments of 1 orange

2 tablespoons orange juice

1 tablespoon sesame oil

1 teaspoon agave

sea salt to taste

1-2 tablespoons pepitas seeds

Method:

1. Wash all sprouts and roughly chop the snow pea sprouts. Place all in a bowl.

2. Juice orange for the orange juice and cut the segments from 1 orange.

3. Add the orange segments to the spouts.

4. In a small bowl, add the orange juice, sesame oil, agave and sea salt.

5. Drizzle the dressing on top of the salad.

6. Dry toast the pepitas seeds in a pan. Then top onto the salad and serve.

36 thoughts on “Early birthday gift…

  1. That’s awesome 🙂 You could make ice creams and soups with this right? I have to start asking my mum for one now 😛
    Advance Happy Birthday 😀

  2. I have had a vitamix since 2006 when I had to pay an exorbitant amount of money to import it from Queensland from the one and only Vitamix salesperson in Australia that I could find. I don’t even want to THINK about how much I paid. I didn’t even use it for the first 5 years! I just stuck it away in a cupboard and forgot about it (probably guilt for the cost!) but now it is out on my countertop and gets used for so many things I have been able to salve my guilt about it’s initial cost. Did you get the flour and grain grinding goblet as well? Love the recipes and Happy Birthday 🙂

    • Hi Narf, yeah I can’t believe how much it use to cost. now myer is carrying, so the price is a bit better. we got them to price match an online store and got the gift as well 🙂 but that was their mistake. no i didn’t get the grinding jug, as it wasn’t included. but i now i have a job i think i will soon. have you got it? do you use it much?

      • The grinding jug is supposed to be better for grinding hard grains, something about the aerodynamics but I find the regular jug does as good a job so save the extra $150 for the grinding jug. I only use it for turning granulated sugar into icing sugar and for rendering buckwheat and quinoa into flours (and amaranth) which the regular goblet does as well. Glad you love it, they are amazing blenders. Makes you wonder how you did without it before having it 🙂

      • Thanks for letting me know that the other one can still do that stuff. i really wanted it to make icing sugar and grinding nuts for making balls. my other processor that i usually use for that has been moved to marcos, so i have one at both locations lol i didn’t realise that buckwheat and quinoa flour was as simple as grinding them whole. i thought they were more refined.

  3. Happy, happy birthday!! Wow – what a wonderful birthday gift! You will have great fun with it. Can you believe that my husband and I bought a Vita Mix over 20 years ago?! It’s still going strong and we use it every day. We always joke that we will have to put it in “the will”. Love your sunflower sprout orange salad 🙂

    • Thanks veghotpot, yeah i know what you mean, if i didn’t get it as a gift then im not sure i would of got one so soon. marco keeps joking that i take such good care of my hurom because i bought it myself lol

  4. I hope you have a wonderful birthday. Congratulations on your vitamix! What a fabulous gift!
    I have a Blendtec, and I LOVE it to bits. It gets used at least once a day.
    All of your food looks yummy.
    I do like the look of those golden carrots.

    • Thanks Ally, I haven’t seen the Blendtec before, but it looks great too. I haven’t been using it much last few days since ive been sick but looking forward to getting creative when im better 🙂

  5. Happy Birthday to you & What a beautiful & very expensieve gift: Yeah for you! I Also received my Vitamix for my Birthday gift last year! Have fun using it! I use mine every day, at dat 3 to 4 times per day! It makes nut milks so creamy & all is beautifully mixed in so that you don’ t have to strain the pulp! You Will so much Enjoy it, sweety!

  6. Can I share the love of Vitamix with you? I bought mine 3 years ago and loving it ever since. It’s an amazing gadget! It’s joy to use it, every single time. Perfect gift!

  7. A belated happy birthday wish from me and I think your birthday gift is a very nice one. You can have so much fun with them. Great markets at Windsor I too have been there and I love the fresh vegetables and fruit. I avoid the supermarkets as much as possible. Here in Redland Bay we still have a few farmers that sell their vegetables and fruit. A couple are organic too. Very nice smoothie, salad and pattie….. Enjoy your weekend !!!! PS nice photos you guys looked well dressed for the early morning market visit 🙂

    • Thanks Thomas 🙂 Your so lucky you have organic farmers on your side of town. I don’t think we do here. I am trying to grow my own but they are not as successful as I would like. But it still fun hobby. Haha, it was freezing, I look like a hippy. Hope you have a good week!

      • Hi yes I suppose I am and I love the farmers markets. 🙂 that’s cool
        That you are trying to grow your own vegetables. We have grown capsicums, eggplant, zucchini… All grew in pots and all in winter.. The humidity we found rots the roots..my wife studied horticulture and she has a lot of knowledge on what will do well and what will not. Hippies are cool that’s fine with me… Next thing you will be moving to bayon bay 🙂 only joking … Have a super week !!!! Thanks

Leave a Reply

