Working Girl

Hi all, I have been so busy with work this week, so I haven’t got a chance to post and read any other blogs. I’m still getting use to this early mornings and  trying to have enough motivation to cook. I am still determined that we will have health lunches and dinners everyday, but its not as fun anymore. So far we have only eaten out one night since Sunday, so we are doing well.

On Sunday I made this delicious Red Capsicum & Green Lentil Hummus, grilled eggplant, grilled zucchini and Chocolate Chia Powerballs (adapted from Cross Fit). I used the hummus in wraps with a the eggplant, zucchini, my garden tuscan kale and snow pea sprouts. We had that for a couple of days and snacked on these delicious power balls. They didn’t last long, I couldn’t’ stop eating them.

???????????????????????????????

Red Capsicum & Green Lentil Hummus (vegan, gluten free, soy free, nut free)

Ingredients:

2 capsicums

4 cloves garlic

1 cup green lentils (3 cups cooked)

2 tablespoons unhulled tahini

2/3 cup olive oil

1 tablespoon ground cumin

1 teaspoon garlic powder

1 teaspoon cayenne pepper

3 tablespoons nutritional yeast

sea salt to taste

Method:

1. Place the lentils in a pot of water, bring to the boil then cook on a simmer till ready. Should take less then 30mins if presoaked.

2. Roast 2 capsicums and garlic in the oven until the skin of capsicum has blackened.

3, Peel skin from the capsicum and roughly chop.

4. In the processor add green lentils, roasted capsicum and garlic.

5. While the processor is on add the rest of the ingredients.

*Makes about 3.5 cups.

???????????????????????????????

Chocoate Chia Power balls (vegan, gluten free, soy free)

Ingredients:

1 cup hazelnuts

1 cup almonds

3 pitted medjool dates

1 tablespoon coconut oil (melted)

1 tablespoon cacao

1 tablespoon maca

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 tablespoons maple syrup

chia seeds to roll balls.

Method:

1. Grind hazelnuts and almonds into a fine flour.

2.Then in the processor add the nut flour, dates, cacao powder, maca. While its blending add coconut oil, vanilla extract and maple syrup.

3. With damp hands, roll the mixture into balls and roll in chia seeds.

4. Freeze for half and hour, then transfer into fridge till your ready to eat.

* Makes about 16-18

On Monday I tried another recipe from Energise Your Life. I made the Ratatouille with polenta cakes. Well I tried to make the polenta cakes. They were very unsuccessful. I think I should of let the polenta set a bit before trying to fry it. So I gave up and we just had polenta on the side. It was nearly 9.30pm by the time we ate, so I had enough. Loved the Ratatouille! Can you believe its the first time I have had it.

My attempt of Polenta cakes

My attempt of Polenta cakes

???????????????????????????????

Yesterday we had Taiwanese food for dinner. I had the most amazing Sweet and Sour Bean Curd and Fried Rice with Skiitake Mushroms. Sorry no pictures. After dinner we came home and I made more delicious raw balls, with all the nuts I had on hand. These ones were even better then the last batch. Marco liked these ones better. However they do lose those shape if not kept in the fridge. I think I put too much coconut oil.

???????????????????????????????

Cranberry Maca balls (vegan, gluten free, soy free)

Ingredients:

110g macadamia

4 tablespoons cashews

2 tablespoons maca

2 tablespoons flax

2 tablespoons sesame seeds

3 tablespoons chia seeds

1/2 cup dried cranberries

1 teaspoons vanilla extract

2 tablespoons coconut oil

2 tablespoons maple syrup

Method:

1. Grind macadamia, cashews, flax seeds, sesame seeds into a fine powder. I did them one by one.

2.Then in the processor add the nut  and seed flour, cranberries, chia seeds and maca. While its blending add coconut oil, vanilla extract and maple syrup.

3. With damp hands, roll the mixture into balls.

4. Freeze for half and hour, then transfer into fridge till your ready to eat.

* Makes 26 balls

???????????????????????????????

Tonight I made these Soba Noodle Salad, with some raw and some lightly steamed vegetables, Teriyaki Tofu, picked ginger, marinated seaweed and a light dressing (soy sauce, lime, ginger, mirin and coconut oil). I also had this for dinner and it was great, can’t wait to have it tomorrow.

I am trying to stay healthy at work, since its a lot of sitting down. I have been drinking fresh vegetable juices for breakfast, green tea and miso soups in tea breaks and eating lots of power balls for morning tea and afternoon cravings. I am learning so much new stuff so I am constantly hungry. Hopefully I won’t put on any weight, because its far to cold to go walking the dogs at the moment.

Hopefully over the weekend I will have some more delicious dishes to bring you!

20 thoughts on “Working Girl

  1. Those cranberry maca balls look incredible… as does all the food!!! I definitely understand the lack of energy that comes from working. I am exactly the same… good on you for making sure that you and Marco still have healthy, nutritious food in the middle of the busy week! Take care of yourself lovely. Take a break from blogging if you need to – everyone will still be here when you get back! Sending you a hug. Thanks for this lovely update! xx

    • Thanks Laura! I hate to admit it but I see why my mum has lost interest in cooking lol but i am determined we must be healthy either way. Yes I think I will be blogging a bit less till I get my stamina up, but its nice to know that you are all still here 🙂 Hope you have a good weekend xo

      • Yeah, it can become a chore after working all day. You’re doing an amazing job, and I think that it’s great that you’re finding balance. Hope that your weekend was lovely also xx

  2. I am going through this phase now, gotten so busy with work that i have no energy to cook. :(…. I am hoping i can get back to blogging more regularly than now.

    The hummus looks delicious, i will definitely bookmark it for later. 🙂

  3. Well done they all look good and tasty I bet. We all have some things that don’t work out as should but still tastes great. PS have you made your seitan yet ? I would like to know your view on it 🙂 thanks and have a wonderful weekend 🙂

    • Thanks Thomas. No I haven’t tried it yet. I am back at my place so I will try make it up to the shops to get some gluten flour and experiment. I think the day after I discovered your seitan I started work then moved to Marcos. But I haven’t forgotten, its still on the to do list 🙂

      • No worries I am making some today and I thought of you a few days ago. It is really a strange thing to make and pretty funny when the gluten flour absorbs the liquid like a sponge 🙂 Enjoy your Sunday !!!!

  4. Hi there….

    Love your recipes…..so glad I found this site!! 🙂

    Just one question….. in the Chocolate Chia Power balls recipe you write “in the processor add the nut flour, dates, ….”, but in the ingredients list I can’t see any dates listed. Are the dates additional or instead of one of the ingredients? And how much should I use? Thanks!! 🙂

    • Hi Anita, thanks for stopping by, I’m so glad you did 🙂
      I’m so sorry that I left the dates in the ingredients out, I was half asleep when I wrote it lol I put 3 medjool dates in the mixture. Thanks for letting me know that I left that out! I have fixed it now. Hope you like them as much as we did 🙂

    • I hope so, I just got sick so I have been able to get on much lately. We are in winter so the days are a bit shorter at the moment but hope to be back cooking again soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

