Linda McCartney Sausages

???????????????????????????????I have heard lots of other blogs and vegan cookbooks mention that their favorite vegan sausages are Linda McCartney Vegetarian Sausages. I finally got around to trying them tonight and now I can see what everyone is raving about. These sausages are fantastic. They have a very similar texture and taste to real sausages, both on the outside and inside. Both mum and Marco also really liked them as well. ???????????????????????????????

These sausages don’t contain any soy, however they do contain gluten, wheat and sulphar dioxide. Sulphar dioxide often use in processed meats, like salami, sausages and hams.  This is definitely not healthy. I am not sure how much are in these sausages, but considering that I would not eat these regularly. In saying that, as a transitioning food these do hit the spot.

I made these sausages tonight with the leftover Onion Sauce from the Energise Your Life recipe, Spinach Parcels with Onion Sauce. On the side I made Sautéed Broccolini with Potatoes and a Spinach, Alfalfa and Cucumber Salad with Sweet Sesame Dressing.

???????????????????????????????

Sausages with Onion Sauce (vegan, nut free)

Ingredients:

Linda McCartney Vegetarian Sausages/other brand

grapeseed oil/other oil

Ingredients for Onion Sauce (makes about 1 1/2 cups):

2 tablespoons olive oil

225 g onion, finely chopped

2 tablespoons soy sauce

2 tablespoons flour

400 ml liquid vegetable/vegan chicken liquid stock

100 ml soy milk

sea salt & black pepper to taste

Method:

???????????????????????????????

1. Heat a griddle pan with oil. The cook sausages according to packet directions. These ones took 15 mins.

2. In the meantime,  heat olive oil  in a pot on medium heat, then add onions. Cook for 5 mins or until soften and browned.

3. Add soy sauce and flour, stir through.

4. Gradually add the stock, stiring constantly. Simmer for 3 mins.

5. Add soy milk and heat through.

6. Season with salt and pepper then serve on top of sausages.

???????????????????????????????

Sautéed Broccolini with Potatoes (vegan, gluten free, soy free, nut free)

Ingredients:

4 small potatoes

2 tablespoons olive oil

2 garlic cloves

brunch of broccolini

sea salt to taste

Method:

1. Place potatoes in a pot of water. Bring to the boil, then cook on medium heat for 20 mins or until cooked.

2. In the meantime, slice the garlic and cut the broccolini into thirds.

3. Peel the skin off the potatoes, then slice.

4. Heat olive oil in a large pan on medium heat. Add the sliced garlic and sliced potato. Then cook for 5 mins or until the potato begins to brown.

5. Add the broccolini and cook for a further 5 mins or until its tender. Season with salt then serve.

*Serve 3 as a side

???????????????????????????????

Spinach, Alfalfa and Cucumber Salad with Sweet Sesame Dressing (vegan, gluten free, nut free)

Ingredients:

50 g baby spinach

handful of alfalfa

1 small cucumber

2 tablespoons vegan soy mayo

1-2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil

1 tablespoon toasted black/white  sesame seeds

agave to taste

1 teaspoon dijon mustard

sea salt to taste

Method:

1. Slice the cucumber, roughly chop the spinach and combine together with alfalfa.

2. Combine the remaining ingredients in a small bowl.

3. Add the dressing to the salad then serve.

*Serves 3-4 as a side

13 thoughts on “Linda McCartney Sausages

  1. Hi I agree with your comment. I suppose that goes for all heavily processed foods. I have eaten Linda’s sausages a few times and they are okay. You made a nice meal and tell me did your family and Marco enjoy the sausages. I am assuming that they are not vegan (I think u said Marco is not vegan) I get mixed responses from omnivores who eat vegan faux meats …!!

    • Yeah they did like it. Both of them aren’t vegan, but they do eat vegan at home most of the time since I won’t cook meat. Marco said it was probably closest to meat that he’s had at home. I’ve tried a few products but they usually don’t have the texture and can feel to processed in the mouth. Do you have suggestions of your favorite brands or products?

      • I agree with Marco although it has been so long since I ate meat I have forgotten how the texture feels like 🙂 we buy the sanitarium curry flavoured sausages which are okay. We eat them not that often though. I make from scratch saiten and I have been told with my few flavoured recipes mimics meat very well. Hey I went to Vegerama in the Queen Street Mall yesterday and bought some chocolate cheesecake and black pearl pudding (not all for me) so delicious. I see Vegerama are adding for vegan food to their menu. It’s about 70% now I think. That’s one place maybe you and Marco or your Mum should try.. I really like it there because they are happy people !! Enjoy your weekend 😉

      • I haven’t tried the Sanitarian sausages, I think they may be the same ones that I tried at the Banana lounge buffet. I have been wanting to make seitan, I have The Complete Guide to Vegan Food Substitutions, which gives a whole lot of recipes. But I don’t know where to buy Vital Gluten in Brisbane. Do you use that or is there something else I can use?
        I also went to Vege Rama yesterday. I didn’t realise they were in the Myer centre until later when I did my review on them. I went to the Post Office square location and they are 100% vegan. The food was fantastic and the people working their are really nice too. I told Marco about it and he will hopefully go during one of his lunch break. Hes a train driver so its not fair from base. It’s a bit fair from my work, but since they are open till 6 I can always get dinner 🙂

    • I usually don’t make them to keep on hand by I may start to do so now ill be working during the week. I’ve been trying to keep away from sulfur with dried fruit, I didn’t realize these ones had it until I was writing this. But yes I know how terrible it is.

  2. I am happy you blogged about it and also enjoyed the food 🙂 I am sure Marco will enjoy the food better than the Loving Hut… I guarantee he will 🙂 On the subject of gluten flour. I have been going to the health store and bought gluten flour from a company called Soland. Vital gluten is I think a brand name from the US of A ? Anyway I could not find it anywhere so I used this and it worked beautifully. It is probably the easier thing I have every made. I have a few recipes with a photo of the gluten flour bag from Soland.. Enjoy !!!
    http://veganismo.me/2012/10/20/recipe-seitan/
    http://veganismo.me/2013/01/27/recipe-seitan-wheat-meat/

    • Thanks so much for telling me about the gluten flour and links for your recipes. I was confused because I’ve googled it heaps and saw people on forums saying its not the same, but clearly it is if you can make that. I can get this from brand my local healthfood store 🙂 Looking forward to experimenting! I reckon he will love Vege Rama too, if he doesn’t go from work I’m going to have to meet him after work and we will go together.

Leave a Reply

