Peanut Butter Pancakes for two

Good morning guys! Today Marco decided we should to have something a bit more decadent for breakfast. So I came up with these delicious peanut butter pancakes. They are gluten free and packed full of flavor. Pancakes really aren’t my forte, but I am getting a bit better at cooking and flipping them. I topped mine with raspberry jam. Marco preferred Dairy free chocolate spread, but even without they are sweet enough. I think I better slow down on sweets. This raspberry jam made my heart race.

DSC05271

Peanut Butter Pancakes (vegan, gluten free, soy free)

Ingredients:

1 cup gluten free plain flour

1 tablespoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon sea salt

1 tablespoon coconut sugar or evaporated cane sugar

1 cup water

1/4 cup pure maple syrup

1/3 cup natural peanut butter

1/2 cup plant milk (coconut, rice or oat; almond or soy if you can tolerate)

canola spray oil

raspberry jam to serve

Method:

1. In a large  mixing bowl,  add gf flour, baking powder, sea salt and  coconut palm sugar. Use a whisk to combine.

2. In a smaller mixing bowl,  add water, maple syrup, and peanut butter. Whisk so that peanut butter has broken down a bit.

3. Add the wet mixture into dry mixture and stir through???????????????????????????????

4. Add the soy milk to the mixture and stir with a wooden spoon till you have a wet thick batter. Do not over mix the batter, it should have some lumps.

5. Heat a nonstick pan on medium heat and grease with canola spray oil. Then add about 1/3 cup of the batter. Smooth it out into a pancake shape with a wooden spoon or spatula. Cook pancake for a couple of minutes, then when the top starts to firm up, flip the pancake and cook for a further 2 mins, or until it is cooked through.

6. Repeat till you have 6 pancakes and serve with raspberry jam or other preferred sweet spread.

*Serve 2, makes 6 pancakes.

DSC05275

12 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Pancakes for two

    • Hi Laura! If you love pb&j you have to try this. I have never really been into it since a kid, but since I have been having good quality peanut butter rather then kraft stuff I have a new appreciation for it for the savory with the sweet. I also made some pb&j overnight oats a while ago, which was really nice.

      • Oh yum, I can imagine the overnight oats must’ve been amazing. I feel the same about good quality pb now. I usually make my own, or there’s this other brand (Purity something or other? I’m not at home so I can’t go look at it) that’s 100% peanuts, no added salt or sugar etc and tastes amazing. I’ll definitely be trying these.

    • Thanks Sheila, I am getting better at them. I just have a problem with anything that needs to be flipped lol I also think my childhood cookbook didn’t get me off to a good start. 1 cup of flour and 1 cup of milk ratio didn’t make good pancakes, but after experimenting with different recipes I’ve improved 🙂

  1. First off, thank you for such a tasty recipe! These had great flavor! However, I had trouble getting them to cook. I followed the recipe exactly yet the batter was very runny. I added more flour and then tried baking them as muffins after a few failed attempts at pancakes. The muffins cooked on the top and outside portions, but the insides were still undercooked after 30 minutes. Patience is apparently not my forte 🙂 Any suggestions as to how I could get these to cook throughout next time? Thank you!

    • Hi Kate, Thanks for leaving a comment. I’m so sorry that my recipe didn’t work out for you. The batter is very thick, more so then most pancake recipes. I used a similar batter to the Tiramisu Pancakes that I made from Chef Chloe’s Tiramisu Pancake (https://liveblissful.wordpress.com/2013/04/21/doggy-days-pancakes-and-black-beans/). I just had to add milk to mine as the batter came out
      too dry without it.
      When cooking the pancakes I placed about 1/3 cup in a medium hot greased pan then used a spatula to flatten it out into a pancake shape, to thin it out. This was a bit tricky, and I think if its too thick then it wouldn’t cook inside. I only cooked it for a couple of minutes on each side.
      I am not sure about baking this batter as muffins as I haven’t tried this before, but I think its probably didn’t set because of all the peanut butter in the batter. Most recipes I have seen use a lot less then I did.
      The only thing I can think of it perhaps the pancakes were a bit too thick and maybe cooking them a bit longer on a lower heat.
      I hope this advice helps. I recommend trying the Tiramisu Pancakes as it has a similarly thick batter and may be a bit easier to work with. I hope you have better luck next time with one of my recipes.

Leave a Reply

