Colorful Superfood Salad with Cheesy Brown Lentil Hummus

In preparation for the this weekends raw food conference with David ‘Avocado’ Wolfe, I am trying to eat more raw foods. I have been enjoying lots of raw fruit and veggies in juices, but I have to push myself incorporate more meals with raw ingredients. When I get some free time I want to give my dehydrator a try. I got it for Christmas and its still in its box. I have started collecting recipes on Pinterest, so there should be some experimentation next month.

This delicious brown lentil hummus is not raw, but it did make use of the leftover brown lentils that I haven’t had time to consider what to do with. I paired it with a fresh salad full of sprouts and colorful vegetables and some warmed wholemeal lebanese bread. This was so filling and a perfect quick dish before going back to studying.

???????????????????????????????

Cheesy Brown Lentil Hummus (vegan, gluten free, soy free, nut free)

Ingredients:

1 cup cooked small brown lentils

2 small cloves of garlic

2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil

2 tablespoons tahini

1/2 cup italian parsley

1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

1 teaspoon curry powder

2 tablespoons nutritional yeast

sea salt to taste

black sesame seeds to garnish (optional)

Method:

1. Place brown lentils and garlic in the processor and blend.

2. While its processing add olive oil and tahini.

3. Then add italian parsley and continue to blend.

4. While its still processing add garlic powder, curry powder, nutritional yeast and sea salt.

5. Once  all the ingredients have broken down in a dip, serve and top with black sesame seeds.

DSC05293

Colorful Salad Bowl with Cheesy Brown Lentil Hummus and Wholemeal Lebanese Bread (vegan, gluten free option, soy free, nut free)

Ingredients:

rocket

snow pea sprouts

alfalfa spouts

red cabbage (sliced)

red onion (sliced)

radish (thinly sliced)

mini roma tomatoes quartered

cucumber (thinly sliced)

pepita seeds

wholemeal lebanese bread (or gluten free)

sea salt to taste

black sesame seeds to garnish (optional)

Method:

1. Wash and toss rocket, snow pea sprouts and alfalfa and any other leafy greens you have. Place on the bottom of serving plate.

2. Top with thinly sliced red cabbage, red onion, radish, mini roma tomato and cucumber.

3. In a pan spray with spray canola oil or olive oil and lightly toast wholemeal lebanese bread. Then slice into desired shape.

4. Dry toast the pepita seeds in the same pan.

5. Top salad with Brown Lentil Hummus, pepita seeds, black sesame seeds, sea salt and serve with toasted lebanese bread.

???????????????????????????????

19 thoughts on “Colorful Superfood Salad with Cheesy Brown Lentil Hummus

  1. Aw yum!!! This hummus looks completely different to any that I’ve tried before. Love the ‘cheesy’ aspect with the added nutritional yeast (I love that stuff, I’m substituting it in heaps of recipes at the moment) and the fact that it’s completely protein packed and satisfying. I’ll definitely try this. Thanks for sharing your inspiration! xx

    • Thanks Laura! Happy to share something I really enjoyed. I am inl ove with nutritional yeast, I can’t believe I lived so long without it. I think it would go with just about any bean hummus…im getting hungry just thinking about it, which we didn’t eat it all 🙂

      • I know what you mean, I didn’t even know it existed til about a year ago! Mm, I need to make some hummus quick smart. I have a can of lentils in the cupboard so I’ll hopefully have time to try this tonight! xx

  2. Finally SOMETHING that will turn brown lentils into something that I just might like! I don’t like their mealy texture, sort of dry and “dirt-y”. One of the only foods I don’t like to be honest. Now I can enjoy their protein hit without having to choke them down 🙂

    • haha love your description of brown lentils, they do have a strange texture. i don’t like the skins that separate while i’m eating them. i hope you like them better like this, they were really nice and creamy blended and taste just as good as chickpea hummus but with a richer flavor 🙂

  3. Love brown lentils! They are good cooked with spices and served with loads of lime juice and fresh salads and pita, and that got me thinking – could be another hummus recipe just like yours! Thank you for the inspiration! 🙂

  4. This looks amazing! I really like the idea of making hummus with lentils and adding the nutritional yeast is a great idea! This dish is almost to pretty to eat but … I’m pretty sure that I could get beyond that. 🙂

  5. Pingback: Week 20 to 25 | Live Blissful

Leave a Reply

