Hurom Juicer and Pasulj (Serbian beans)

My Hurom Juicer finally arrived today! I have been madly checking the post tracking ever since I bought it for myself. It is my early graduation present. I bought HU500 ???????????????????????????????after I saw it advertised on the Food Matters website. The demonstration videos looked quite impressive and I really liked that it yields more juice with more nutrients.

The post man was so early this morning that he woke me up, but I couldn’t go back to bed I had to try it out my new baby. Albie took advantage of my sleepiness and impressed me with giving me each paw to shake and then sat with his adorable sad face. He is not well at the moment, he has injured himself so we are off to the chiropractor on the weekend. So while I was madly trying to figure out my juicer, he helped himself to my mum’s leather lounge and took a long nap.

After taking the juicer apart to see where it all goes I put it back together and started chopping fruit and veggies. I only had a pear, small beetroot, few sticks of celery and one large leaf of kale, so I wasn’t expecting a lot of juice. I just place a glass under the spout, like they do in the video and started to juice. Before I got near the pear I already had a full glass of green juice. I had to get another glass to catch the rest. I was really impressed with the dry pulp and I really love the little cap on the spout that the juice comes out of, which makes sure you don’t spill any.

The juice consistency was really nice. It wasn’t too watery or too pulpie. To clean the juicer you just have to rinse it with water and use the brush to get off any excess fruit, so easy. I ended up making juice again after dinner tonight to demonstrate it to Marco. He is in love with it too now. Unfortunately we had to go back to his tonight, so we won’t see the Hurom again till tomorrow.

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

While I was enjoying my juice I was watching the Today Show and saw that David ‘Avocado’ Wolfe is here for his Australia Tour! He is  coming to my city in Brisbane next week. Unfortunately I couldn’t convince anyone today to go with me, so I will be going to his evening lecture and day conference by myself next weekend. It is a bit pricey but for the amount of hours it good value. To see a show or do a cooking lesson would cost just as much and thats only 2 hours. I first saw David on Hungry for Change documentary and he really influenced me to get back into juicing. So I can’t wait to see what he says and to learn more about raw food and nutrition.

With such a healthy start to the day I continued with a healthy Mushroom and Baba Ganoush Salad Wrap for lunch. I tried out the new Organic Mountain Bread that I got from Woolies yesterday. It doesn’t have any preservatives, which is great as its hard to find any wraps or lebanese breads that don’t. It also tastes really good and doesn’t have that strange wrap after taste.

???????????????????????????????

Mushroom and Baba Ganoush Salad Wrap (vegan, gluten free option, nut free)

Ingredients:

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 large flat mushroom sliced

1 teaspoon diced basil/parsley

2 pieces of mountain bread/gf wrap

2 tablespoons baba ganoush (store bought/homemade)

1/2 small carrot grated

1/2 small lebanese cucumber thinly sliced

1 radish thinly sliced

1 small tomato sliced

small handful baby spinach

1 roasted capsicum

sea salt to taste

Method:

1. Heat olive oil in a pan and add mushroom. Saute on each side, when it starts to brown add the basil/parsley and sea salt.

2. Place 1 piece of mountain bread on a plate, then spread baba ganosh and top with carrot, cucumber, radish, tomato, baby spinach, mushroom, roasted capsicum and sea salt.

3. Close the ends of the mountain bread then roll it closed. Wrap another mountain bread around the wrap.

4. Wrap the mountain bread with baking paper and twist the ends of the paper. Then slice in the middle and serve.

* Serves 1

After lunch I started on dinner. I always get so much done when I am procrastinating my uni work. I really wanted to try make another Serbian bean dish that I tried at ???????????????????????????????Marco’s sisters Slava.  It is prepared the same way as Prebranac, which I made with lima beans. However, is stove cooked instead of baked. To thicken the beans and water into a sauce you just add a mixture of flour and water. She also told me that leeks, carrots and capscium can also be added.

According to an article I read this stove cooked Serbian beans is called Pasulj (Пасуљ) and is more like a thick bean soup. It is traditional dish in Serbian, Bosnia, Albania and other parts of the Balkans. Like Prebranac it is made white or brown beans, onions and sweet Hungarian paprika as well as bay leaves, carrots, leeks and other vegetables. It is often prepared with smoked meats, such as smoked bacon, smoked sausage and smoked joints. But the meat is omitted during times of fasting.

Although this dish takes a long time to make its really easy and is a perfect comfort dish for cold weather. I had to add a bit of sugar to mine, as my sweet hungarian paprika was a bit bitter. We enjoyed this soup with some crusty sour dough and sauerkraut.

???????????????????????????????

Pasulj (Serbian Bean Soup) (vegan, gluten free, soy free, nut free)

Ingredients:

500g great northern beans (soaked/un-soaked)

1/2 cup olive oil

1 large leek, diced

3 onions, diced

2 garlic cloves, diced

2 large carrots, diced

1 red capsicum, diced

2 tablespoons Sweet Hungarian Paprika

3 bay leaves, pinch of raw sugar (if too bitter)

1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper (optional)

1/2 tablespoon liquid smoke (optional)

sea salt and black pepper to taste

2 tablespoons arrowroot flour (or other flour)???????????????????????????????

Method:

1. Place beans in a large pot and fill with water. Bring to the boil, then strain beans and remove water.

2. Place beans  in the same pot and fill with water. Bring to the again boil, then strain beans and remove again water.???????????????????????????????

3. This time place beans back in pot with water to cover (about 1-2 finger tips). Slightly cover the pot and bring to the boil, then place on a simmer. Cook for 45 mins to 1 hour, or until beans are quite soft.???????????????????????????????

4. In a large pan heat olive oil and add the onion, garlic, leeks, carrots, red capsicum, paprika, bay leaves, sea salt, black pepper, sugar and liquid smoke. Cook for 1o mins or until onions are translucent and all the vegetables have softened???????????????????????????????

5. Add the vegetables to the beans and stir through.

6. Mix flour with 4 tablespoons water in a small bowl then add to the beans.

7. Cook beans for a further 30-1 hour, so that they break down a little more and become a thick soup. Season and serve.

*Serves 6-8

Pasulj <http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pasulj>

Cord Magazine <http://www.cordmagazine.com/images1/pdf/cord77.pdf>

???????????????????????????????

Here is an update on my garden. My herbs are looking a bit sad and my veggies are getting a few bites, but they are all growing nicely. I have started using the pak chop and lettuce. Any advice natural ways to stop bugs? I am using this natural chili garlic spray. Its only the broccoli, cabbage and brussel sprouts that are getting attacked.

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

I’ve also started growing a pineapple plant with the top root. I will have to plant it soon.

???????????????????????????????

18 thoughts on “Hurom Juicer and Pasulj (Serbian beans)

    • I have been using the Natural Spray Beat-A-Bug which contains chili, garlic and pyrethrum. But I think I may plant some marigolds because I only get these flying bugs that have never been here until I started planting veggies. I don’t get any bugs on lettuce, spinach, tomato or broad beans, or herbs even before I used this spray, so maybe try planting those.

      • The snug here can eat anything, they’re not harm by broken glass, egg shells…
        they could eat a whole plant and left out the root there.
        This year we covered our vegetables patch with net, will see….

    • Thanks Hannah, you should start a patch too, its very rewarding when you actually grow something big enough to eat, First time around I didn’t produce much but I am still learning. The best thing is the spinach and lettuce, they practically take care of themselves. I hope to one day have a whole yard of just garden when I have my own place. Otherwise I will have to fill my mums pool with soil lol

  1. I tried placing crushed eggshells around my plants to stop the snails eating them, but it didn’t work very well. Placing a circle of grit (I get it from the pet shop) around them seems to work better. The snails don’t like crawling over it.

    • Thanks for advice Kristah 🙂 I might do that if the rain brings me snails, So far I just have these flying bugs and just come and go as they please. They even bite when I when I go into weed so I’m not sure what they are, all I know is they only eat certain veggies. I use to small slug in the cabbage but they haven’t come back yet.

  2. I love your smaller veggies that you are growing too! 🙂 That big stylish juicer is looking like a real king sitting on your kitchen counter! It does the real hard work: good for you & enjoy your tasty juices!

Leave a Reply

