Coconut Pancakes with Pomegranate

After being so good for so long its ok to be a bit bad right? I have never been good at making pancakes, crepes, omelettes or anything you have to flip. So after making those perfect Tiramisu Pancakes,  a couple of days ago, I wanted to try again. So I tried to veganise another pancake recipe that I saw on Jamie Oliver’s website, Coconut pancakes with pomegranate jewels. If you aren’t a big fan of coconut cream on its own, try making a whipped coconut cream or using vegan coconut yogurt. I was in a hurry and wanted to make this sugar free so my coconut cream was a bit more runny. Marco liked it, but he also added some jam ontop for more sweet, I don’t think he needed it but he is a sweetaholic. The addition of pomegranate seeds and lime zest also bring a freshness as well, can be omitted if you don’t have any.

???????????????????????????????

Coconut Pancakes with Pomegranate and Coconut Cream (vegan, gluten free option, soy free, nut free)

Ingredients:

1 cup whole wheat, plain or gluten free flour

1 tablespoon baking powder

8 tablespoons ground dedicated coconut (just grind shredded coconut in processor)

1/2 teaspoons sea salt

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/4 cup brown rice syrup

3/4 cup water

canola spray oil /coconut oil

1/4 cup coconut cream (left in fridge overnight) or coconut yoghurt

agave to taste

seeds from 1/2 pomegranate

lime zest (optional)

Method:

1. Take a large bowl and add flour, baking powder, ground coconut, and salt. Whisk together.???????????????????????????????

2. In a smaller bowl add water, rice syrup and vanilla extract. Whisk together.

3. Add wet mixture into dry mixture and whisk until just combined. Don’t over mix, as there should be some lumps.???????????????????????????????

4. Heat a nonstick pan over medium-high heat, spray with oil. Pour 1/3 cup batter onto pan. When bubbles begin to appear in center, flip the pancake. Cook on the other side until it is lightly browned. Cook for another minute so it is cooked all the way through.  Continue with the rest of the batter.

5. In the meantime take the thick part of the coconut cream and add some agave to sweeten it.

6. Serve pancakes with a dollop of coconut cream/yogurt, lime zest and pomegranate seeds.

*Serves 2-3, makes 6 pancakes

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

If breakfast wasn’t sweet enough I dropped into The Cupcake Parlour and had a Vegan Vanilla Cupcake with Fairy Floss Icing.

???????????????????????????????

30 thoughts on “Coconut Pancakes with Pomegranate

  1. Your pancakes look gorgeous! I love the additions of the pomegranate and lime zest. I made a salad last night with couscous, segmented oranges, toasted almonds and pistachios, fresh mint, pomegranate seeds, lemon oil and pomegranate molasses. SO.GOOD. I want to try this for breakfast, maybe with some toasted shredded coconut. Yum! Thanks for your recipe and for expanding my pancake repertoire! xx

    • Thanks Laura, happy to bring you something new! That salad sounds delicious! I will have to make that when I get back home, I have no herbs and nuts at Marcos place. I haven’t seen pomegranate molasses, what is it like?

    • Hi Luksana, its no problem to ask, I’m not sure if I mentioned that I added these abbreviations to my recipes. They just mean gluten free option, soy free and nut free. On my index page I put the meanings to those words, for people with allergies and intolerances.)

Leave a Reply

