Barley, Lentil and Butternut Pumpkin Stew

I really wanted to make risotto with pumpkin tonight. I had all the ingredients, except the rice. So I searched through the cupboard for something else to use and I came across this dry mixture of barley and lentils. Ages ago I tried to use one of these mixes, but only some parts were cooked and other parts were crunchy. But I thought I would give it another try. There was a note on the back of the packet to either pre-soak for 6-8 hours or cook for 30 mins. After cooking them, they only needed another 30 mins to simmer with the pumpkin and the spices, then dinner was served. I love one pot meals and so does the head dishwasher Marco!

???????????????????????????????

Barley, Lentil and Butternut Pumpkin Stew (vegan, soy free, nut free)

Ingredients:

2 cups mixture of barley, yellow split peas, red dahl (I used McKenzies Soup Mix)

1 tablespoon olive oil

2 garlic cloves, sliced

1 leek, sliced

1 tablespoon ground cumin

1 tablespoon ground turmeric

1/2 tablespoon garlic powder

1/2 tablspoon ground cayenne pepper

800g butternut pumpkin, de-seeded, peeled & chopped in small pieces

1 litre vegan chicken or vegetable liquid stock

sea salt to taste

serve with fresh coriander & homemade or store bought chapati (optional)???????????????????????????????

Method:

1. Take a large pot and bring 6 cups of water and the mixture of barley, split peas & lentils to the boil. Place on a simmer and cook for 30 mins. Skim foam from surface as necessary. Once finished strain and set to the side. Skip this step if you have already pre-soaked them. ???????????????????????????????

2. In a large pot, heat olive oil, then add garlic and leek. Saute for 2-3 mins.

3. Add cumin, turmeric, garlic powder, cayenne and saute for a further 2 mins.

4. Add butternut pumpkin and stir through with the spices.

5. Add liquid stock, mixture of barley and lentils and sea salt to the pot. Bring the boil, then place on a simmer and cover for 30 mins.

* Serve with fresh coriander leaves and chapati

*Serves 8

???????????????????????????????

9 thoughts on “Barley, Lentil and Butternut Pumpkin Stew

  1. Delicious looking soup! I crave these spices – seriously! And, I love one pot meals too! This is definitely on my list of soups to make. I will just have to substitute the barley for short brown rice. Gosh, I wish I had a bowl of this right now!

    • Thanks Angela 🙂 i was thinking about gf sub, short brown rice would be great instead of barley as it has a similar texture. i hope you guys like it. i can’t wait to have this for lunch again 🙂

  2. You know how recipes call to you? This one is singing puccini! I love the combinations and if a recipe can make me think “I HAVE to eat this tonight!” at 5.29am, it’s a winner in my books 🙂

  3. i love a one pot meal during a busy week too. and you are so creative to turn it into a stew instead with ingredients you can find. Looks very delicious and comforting. 🙂

Leave a Reply

