Sweet Blueberry Semolina Porridge

Its been raining a lot here in Brisbane and I really felt like a warm porridge. Something I have never used other then for pasta is semolina. I looked at a few different recipes that used semolina, water and milk, but I wasn’t sure how many people they served. So I just thought I would experiment and see what happens. It is very much like cooking polenta, but it comes out a lot thicker a lot faster. It was really delicious, especially with blue berry maple syrup! This is a quick easy breakfast that takes no earlier preparation and will warm you up and keep you satisfied for longer.

If you love warm porridge then also see my Vanilla Maple Breakfast Polenta.

???????????????????????????????

Sweet Blueberry Semolina Porridge (vegan soy free, nut free)

Ingredients:

1 cup water

3 tablespoons semolina

1/4 cup plant milk and more to serve (coconut, rice or oat; almond or soy if you can tolerate)

1 teaspoon coconut sugar (or raw sugar)

serve blueberry maple syrup and fresh berries

Method:

1. Place water, semolina and milk in a small pot. Bring to the boil then let it simmer for 3-5 mins or until thick. Add more soy milk if it is too thick.

2. Serve with a drizzle of cold  soy milk, blueberry maple syrup and fresh blueberries

*Serves 1

???????????????????????????????

7 thoughts on “Sweet Blueberry Semolina Porridge

  1. That looks so delicious. I love porridge, but I’ve never used semolina before… I can imagine that it’d work so well! The weather is cooling down here in Perth too at the moment. I actually wore long sleeves three times this week, and cooked a few hot dinners without melting in the kitchen. I do love winter. Yay for porridge mornings!

    • Thanks Laura! We are having some days around 25 and some 32 its really strange, but its nice for diversity. I can’t wait for winter though. I thought I missed summer, but with all these mosquito I want to hide my legs and I prefer hearty warm meals. I also made a similar porridge with polenta, you can see in my index. Both are really yummy!

Leave a Reply

