Friendly Fish and Chips with Sweet Chimi Mayo (vegan)

As I have mentioned before, giving up seafood has been probably the hardest thing about going vegan for me. I often end up eating fish or seafood when we go out with friends, because I have no other option on the menu. I haven’t been eating it that much lately, with all the recent controversy surrounding our quality and health of the seafood we get in Australia. However, every so often when I don’t feel like cooking, Marco and I have been buying takeaway fish and chips. It always sounds like a good idea at the time, but I end up feeling really full and sickly after. Our local one doesn’t have the best quality chips and the oil that they promote that they fry the food in vegetable oil. If I wouldn’t use vegetable oil at home because its so unhealthy, why am I buying it from there?

We don’t eat fried food often, but when we do I prefer to make it at home. Occasionally Marco twists my arm, to have fried chips. In fact its one of the only things he can or will make is fried chips. I don’t even have to do anything, which is very convenient for him. So last night when he offered to go get fish and chips, we decided instead we would make our own.

Do you remember on Valentines Day I posted about Kuan Yin Tea House? I ordered Veggie Snow Fish Rice. I was blown away by how great the ‘fish’ was. The texture, the flavor was very fish like. Silly me thought this was something they made in store. I never seen or heard of veggie fish before. However, last week when I was buying up at Green Edge, I was looking in their freezer section and saw Lamyong Vegetarian Chunky Fish. It looked very similar to what I had at restaurant. So I got some to try and yes it was the same thing.

I decided to make my usually go-to battered fish recipe. I used to dip the fish in flour, then into beaten eggs with herbs, then finished off in corn crumbs. I really prefer corn crumbs, as I find bread crumbs are a bit plain in flavor. Instead of using eggs I used whole organic soy (from Aldi) and it works just as well as eggs. The Lamyong Veggie Fish cooked  just as well as my usually fried fish, so it makes a really great substitute. Marco also really liked it and was happy to have this instead of regular fish. The pieces were quite thick and it was very filling, so you don’t need to have too many pieces to be satisfied.

On the side we had the chips, which we have learned from our mothers, that you must soak the potatoes before frying. I never knew why I could never make fries. Now we have no problems and they are cooked all the way through and unbroken. I also made this quick dipping sauce with the left over Chimichurri. Obviously I won’t eat this kind of vegan product often, but it is a nice vegan treat that can be prepared at home.

???????????????????????????????

Friendly Fish and Chips with Sweet Chimi Mayo (vegan, nut free)

Ingredients for Vegan Fish & Chips:

Potato and/or Sweet Potato (enough for 2 serves)

Canola or Sunflower oil to fry

6 pieces Lamyong Vegetarian Chunky Fish/other vegan fish (defrosted)

unbleached plain flour

whole soy milk (thick)

fresh minced herb of choice (optional)

corn crumbs or other bread crumbs

sea salt to taste???????????????????????????????

Ingredients for Sweet Chimi Mayo:

2 tablespoons vegan mayo

2 teaspoons Chimichurri

agave to taste

Method:

1. Wash and chop the potatoes and sweet potatoes into batons. Then place them in cold water for 10-20 mins. If you haven’t defrosted the vegan fish, place it in water and set aside.DSC04258

2. In the mean time make the Sweet Chimi Mayo, by combining all the ingredients in a small bowl. Add more of each for taste.

3. If you fish is ready (completely defrosted on inside) then you can batter it now. Just dip it in flour (pat off excess), then dip in thick whole soy milk with herbs mixed through (optional), then dip in corn crumbs.

4. To fry the fish and chips just heat the oil in a wok/pan and cook the fish and chips until fish is golden brown and chips are cooked. Then place them on paper towels to drain any excess water, top with sea salt and serve.

*Serves 2

DSC04268

9 thoughts on “Friendly Fish and Chips with Sweet Chimi Mayo (vegan)

  1. I was a bit curious when I read friendly fish and chips and have never tried anything similar. I recently noticed some vegan seafood alternatives and wondered what they would actually taste like. It is amazing how many foods you can make vegan, and I think it is awesome that you have managed to incorporate vegan friendly seafood since it is one of your favourites 🙂

    • Thanks Arohanui! I was a bit skeptical about them, but I really like this product. I have seen the vegan prawns but not to crazy about them. i might change my mind if i try them at a vegan restaurant though.

  2. That all looks very tasty! I didn’t know that trick about soaking the chips in water prior to cooking. So, you pan fry the chips, rather than deep fry? That sounds good.

    • Thanks Ally! Yeah I shallow fry them in a wok. We have never deep fried in my house, so I am a bit scared to try it.
      I found if I soak the potatoes first then they are quicker to cook and the inside of the potato goes all soft on the inside. Before when I use to cook them the outside would be bordering on burn and the inside would be uncooked and they would break up as I tried to move them.
      I also find the wok is the best thing to fry them in and you don’t need as much oil.

      • That’s a handy tip. I don’t deep fry either. But shallow frying in a wok sounds good. I might have to try this next time we feel like hot chips.

  3. I couldn’t wait to come here and read your recipe when I saw the email notification. This looks so good. I love fish and chips. This version will satisfy my cravings as well. Lovely post!

Leave a Reply

