Little Lamb Hot Pot and revisit to The Cardamon Pod

Hey guys, this weekend went fast! Only one more week till I’m back at uni. I have enjoyed this holiday, but I need to do something constructive. I just realized today I  have put on 2 kilos. Not enough exercising and too much indulgence. So I will be back on a health kick from now. Anyway over the weekend we ate out at a couple of places. On Saturday night we went to dinner with our  new home stay student and today we went out to lunch for Marco’s mother 60th birthday.

On Saturday night our student, Jane took us to new restaurant, called Little Lamb Hot Pot at Runcorn. I have never heard of  this place and the name scared me a little. I didn’t think I would be able to eat anything. But Jane assured me that there were plenty of vegan options and that I wouldn’t go hungry. When we arrived this place was packed. We had a booking luckily, so after we chose the type of Hot Pot, we paid and were shown to our table. It cost about $30 per person.

???????????????????????????????

On our table had a large Hot Pot and a BBQ with hot embers. The Hot Pot we chose was normal and spicy. So first thing, we got the ingredients from the buffet area to start cooking. For the hot pot we got green leafy vegetables, sweet potato, lotus root, bean curd skins, tofu, skiitake and enoki mushrooms and starch noodles. Jane made us a special sauce made of condiments that we could eat the food from the hot pot in. She said she put soy sauce, vinegar, peanut sauce and more. We also got meats, seafood and vegetables skewers to cook on the BBQ. This BBQ rotates, so it cooks the ingredients all the way around. Luckily they had corn and marinated eggplant skewers for me. We also got some cold sides, such as beans, sea vegetables and pickled tofu. For the hot dishes there was fried pumpkin puffs, red bean sesame balls and fried fish. So we got a little bit of each. To drink we got some plum juice.

Hot Pot

Hot Pot

Special Sauce for Hot Pot

Special Sauce for Hot Pot

???????????????????????????????

BBQ

BBQ

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

Everything was really delicious. We ate until we felt we were going to pop. I especially liked eating the hot pot vegetables with Jane’s special sauce, the eggplant skewers and red bean sesame balls. I did have a little bit of fish, which was really good too. I couldn’t resist. When I looked around while we were eating I couldn’t believe how much other people were eating. They just had mountains of skewers and prawn heads. We probably should of paced ourselves, but we were so hungry.

After we ate I took a few photos, as I have never been to a place quite like this. In fact I think it is the only one of its kind in our city, hence why it was so busy. Even if your not a carnivore, this place has heaps of vegetables, noodles and tofu to take advantage of. You will definitely not leave hungry. However, if the smell and look of meat disgusts you, this is probably not the place for you. The smell of the BBQ’s was very strong.

???????????????????????????????

Ingredients for Hot Pot

Ingredients for Hot Pot

Ingredients for Hot Pot

Ingredients for Hot Pot

Ingredients for Hot Pot

Ingredients for Hot Pot

Skewers for BBQ

Skewers for BBQ

Condiments

Condiments

Cold Sides

Cold Sides

Hot Sides

Hot Sides

Drinks

Drinks

After this meal we wanted to keep chatting, but the seats were really uncomfortable and it was hard to talk over the steam in the center of the table. So we thought we would take Jane to a new cafe that has opened at Sunnybank Plaza, Coco Jungle Chocolate Lounge. I have been hesitant to try this place, as its all chocolate drinks and desserts, which means lots of dairy.

When we arrived I asked the waitress if they could do the Italian Hot Chocolate with Soy and whether there was any dairy it it otherwise. She said they sure could do it with soy and their was no dairy. In hindsight I am not so sure this was a dairy free drink. I really hope it was. I will go back again to investigate what is exactly in these drinks. If its all clear I will visiting this place once a week. The Italian Hot Chocolates come in around 20 flavors and you can chose thin, medium and thick. I had the Strawberry, mum had Raspberry and Marco had White Chocolate & Hazelnut. They tasted amazing and is definitely one of my top foods I could live on.

???????????????????????????????

Strawberry Soy Italian Hot Chocolate

Strawberry Soy Italian Hot Chocolate

For Marco’s mothers birthday we took her to The Cardamon Pod at Broadbeach. We were so impressed last time we came to The Cardamom Pod for Marco’s Birthday, that we had to come back. I fell in love with the food and especially the Raw Vegan Cheesecake, that I really wanted the rest of the family to experience the food.

???????????????????????????????

We ended up ordering  four platters of hot and cold dishes for lunch. These included Vegetable Curry, Lentil Mousakka, Creamy Cauliflower and Polenta Bake, Dahl, Kofta Balls, Samosa and some healthy mixed salads. Everyone loved the food and luckily Marco’s little nieces and nephew all were happy to eat all these healthy dishes from the platters.

Vegetable Curry, Rice, Lentil Moussaka, Samosa

Vegetable Curry, Rice, Lentil Moussaka, Samosa

For dessert the kids had Sago Puddings and Ice cream. Unfortunately they ran out of Cocoluscious Ice cream and only had the normal dairy kind. The kids didn’t mind though. The rest of us all ended up ordering the Raw Vegan Vanilla Berry Cheesecake. I told them they had to have it and once they tried it they would see why. They all loved it and couldn’t believe it had no dairy or sugar. Definitely another thing I could live off. I need to find out the recipe for this cake. Everyone agreed that it tastes just like New York Cheesecake except better.

Sago Pudding

Sago Pudding

Raw Vegan Vanilla Berry Cheesecake

Raw Vegan Vanilla Berry Cheesecake

Unfortunately because of the wet weather we didn’t end up going for a walk on the beach after this, but all in all it was worth the trip down to the coast. The most importantly thing was that Marco’s mum enjoyed the day and the food. Can’t wait to come back down for this cheese cake!

6 thoughts on “Little Lamb Hot Pot and revisit to The Cardamon Pod

  1. Wow, I hope those hot chocolates are vegan! I’d love to go there.
    Oh, as you know, I love Cardamon Pod too! I haven’t tried that cheesecake. It looks amazing. It’s a shame they ran out of cocoluscious.
    I’m happy to hear that Marco’s mum enjoyed her birthday celebration there.

    • Well they told me it was dairy free if I had it with soy, but I am going to go in again and check the ingredients. I want to take the kids in so I want to be 100% before I let them have it. But I’ll keep you updated.
      Yeah I was surprised they ran out cocoluscious. We finally got it at our local health food store 🙂

Leave a Reply

