Summer Protein Smoothies

These are some of the smoothies that I have been making to cool me down and fill me up first thing in the morning in this summer heat. I don’t even feel like I need the coffee after I have one of these. Because of my pyroluria, protein is very important for me to have in the morning to kick start my brain. Since I don’t eat eggs anymore, I try to find other foods that are rich in protein, such as nut, nut butters, nut milks, grains, legumes and avocado. A really quick and easy way to get the protein I need to to put it all in a smoothie, with other fruits and vegetables.

The Protein that I have been using in my smoothies is Vanilla Vital Protein Pea Protein Isolate. It is vegan, 82% Vegetable Protein and is world’s highest source of vegetable protein. It is downloadgluten free, lactose free, GM free. It is also 88% Bio-available Protein, Low-Carbohydrate Level 0.1%, , Low Allergenic, Low in Anti-Nutritional Factors, High Tolerance, 100% Vegetable Origin, Balanced Amino Acid Profile, Not deposited in the body as fat, Rich in valuable Amino Acids for weight control, sports or medicinal purposes; High-digestability (98%), Amino Acid Score 0.9 (norm FAO 1991), High Alkalinity level (ph 7.5).

I have only found a couple of protein products available in Brisbane that are vegan. Such as  Tony Sfeir’s Pea Protein Isolate, Lotus Australia Organic Brown Rice ProteinHemp Foods Australia Hemp Protein.

What protein do you use?

How do you use it (smoothies, baking, etc)?

Do you have any good recipes?

Here are some of the smoothies I have been making over the past weeks. If you are a bit hesitant like I was to add some vegetables to your smoothies, I promise you won’t notice them in these recipes. These are what I call “Marco friendly” smoothies. He always gets nervous when he sees what I am putting in, but he ends up loving them.

Dragon Cherry Protein Smoothie- 1 small Dragon fruit, 1/2 cup cherries 3 dessert spoons vanilla protein, 1 cup almond milk, agave to taste (1-2 serves)

Spinach & Summer Fruit Protein Smoothie– 1 frozen banana, 1 cup frozen nectarine, 1/2 cup frozen grapes, 1/2 cup baby spinach, 2 1/2 cups almond milk, 9 dessert spoons vanilla protein, agave to taste (3 serves)

Green Minty Cooldown Protein Smoothie– 8 grapes, 1/2 lebanese cucumber (peeled), small handful of baby spinach, leaves from 2 sprigs of mint, 1 cups almond milk, 3 dessert spoons vanilla protein, agave to taste (1 serves)

Carrot Cake Protein Smoothie– 1 frozen banana, 1/2 cup grated carrot, 1 teaspoon diced fresh ginger, 2 tablespoon ground pecans/walnuts, 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon, 1 3/4 cup almond milk, 6 dessert spoons vanilla protein, agave to taste (2 serves)

Dragon Cherry Protein Smoothie

Dragon Cherry Protein Smoothie

Spinach & Summer Fruit Protein Smoothie

Spinach & Summer Fruit Protein Smoothie

Green Minty Cooldown Protiein Smoothie

Green Minty Cooldown Smoothie

Carrot Cake Protein Smoothie

Carrot Cake Protein Smoothie

.

13 thoughts on “Summer Protein Smoothies

  1. Your smoothie recipes look soooo delicious and refreshing! My favourite protein powders are Sun Warrior Raw -chocolate is my favourite. I also love Vega’s protein powder (pea protein, hemp, brown rice…) in french vanilla or chai. I will use either protein powder in my maca-roons or raw protein balls. I usually make a shake in the morning or whenever I feel I need a snack (like mid-afternoon).

    • thanks angela! id like to try brown rice protein, i think i should be able to order sun warrior here. i will have to try out your maca-roons, they look delicious. can i substitute the maca root?

      • Thank you! Yes, just substitute the maca root with more protein powder. (Vega actually has the maca root in their powder, so if you use this brand for the maca-roons then there’s no need for the maca at all) Just to let you know… I love the chocolate Sun Warrior powder, but my family and friends prefer the vanilla. Garden of Life is good too, but I do find it a little sweet (contains stevia).

  2. Funny! I just had a smoothie with Vital Protein! Literally 10 minutes ago. We have the plain one, but I prefer vanilla. We also love Sun Warrior, vanilla flavoured.
    We have been drinking more smoothies that usual (I have a green smoothie every morning anyway), because summer fruit is so delectable and we have a new blender!

    Your smoothies look awesome. 🙂

  3. I don’t use any protein in smoothies since even though we’ve cut back on meat we still eat eggs & cheese but despite that your smoothie recipes are amazingly delicious! Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

