Raw Cherry Ripe Buckwheat Porridge

To finish off the last of my batch of buckwheat porridge I decided to make something different. I still had some cherries I froze from a few weeks back, so I tried to make a cherry ripe like layered dessert . I only made enough for one, so I think Marco is going to be very jealous when he sees this. It was such a filling breakfast, not sure if I’ll be able to have lunch today.

DSC02662

Raw Cherry Ripe Buckwheat Porridge (vegan, raw, gluten free, soy free, nut free)

Ingredients:

3/4 cup raw buckwheat porridge

2 teaspoons cacao or cocoa powder (more to sprinkle)

1/2 cup pitted cherries (fresh/defrosted)

1 teaspoon coconut oil

1 tablespoon toasted coconut

Method:

1. Combine the buckwheat porridge and the cocoa powder and stir through till it is brown.

2. In the processor add the pitted cherries. While it is still running add the coconut oil and toasted coconut. Whiz until it has combined and has a jam like consistencey.

3. Take a dessert glass and layer the buckwheat porridge and the cherry mixture. Top with with some cocoa powder and serve.

*Serves 1

Last night I was invited over to my mother’s partners house. Since Ted’s been having a few dinners over at my place, I suggested we go over to his for one of his curries and for some air con. He is Mauritian and makes beautiful Indian curries and chapati breads. Lately he has been making more Thai curries. So last night we had a Thai Green Curry with Tofu and Vegetables, Rice and Lentils. He made the spice paste from scratch and he made it vegetarian for me. It was really good! I really like the lentils as well. His family usually make this kinds of lentils on the side, just with garlic and ginger.  I am going to try get some recipes from him soon and try to cook some of them.

DSC02659

6 thoughts on “Raw Cherry Ripe Buckwheat Porridge

  1. I can’t wait for our cherries to be in season! Your porridge looks wonderful! I am thinking it would be nice to eat it this summer down at the dock. 🙂 (I’m missing the warm weather right now). My stomach is growling now for your porridge and Ted’s Thai Curry! The curry will keep us warm.

Leave a Reply

