Broccoli and Cauliflower Pakoras

Tonight I was emptying my fridge, so that I could bring our left over food to Marco’s and freeze whatever I could. I managed to freeze the nectarines, peaches, cherries and grapes. I only had a few vegetables left. I didn’t want to freeze them. I hate frozen cauliflower and broccoli. It fills up with water and tastes terrible. I was trying not to open anything new so I decided to finally try to make pakoras. Bad idea when you have been over eating for the past 3 days and wanted a healthy dinner. I think there is a reason they are served as an entree at Indian restaurants. I never really think about fatty they are when I usually order them. They did taste really good though. Just not the healthiest dinner choice. I served them with the Sweet-and-Sour Sauce that I had made to go with the Meatballs from Chef Chloe’s book. It is really sweet and has a similar taste to the sweet tamarind sauce. Otherwise you can use any kind of sweet dipping sauce you like. Since I made so much I freeze the rest. I read that if you fry them then freeze, you can just refry them when you want to eat them. Yes I know its not healthy, but a better alternative to something store bought fried foods.

This is my last cooking post for the next couple of weeks. Hopefully I will find some great vegan eats in Melbourne!

DSC01588

Broccoli & Cauliflower Pakoras (vegan, gluten free, soy free, nut free)

Ingredients:

2 cups besan/chickpea flour

1/2 teaspoon bicarbonate soda

2 teaspoons ground cumin

1 teaspoon ground turmeric

1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

1/2 teaspoon ground ginger

1 teaspoon garam marsala

1 teaspoon sea salt & more to taste

1.5 cups water

1/2 head cauliflower, cut into florets

1 onion, sliced

1 small head broccoli, cut into florets

Method:

1. Sift the besan flour in a large bowl then add the bicarbonate soda and all the ground spices and salt. DSC01583

2. Stir through water slowly till it thickens in to a batter.DSC01584

3. Add the vegetables and cover in the batter.

4. Heat the oil in a wok and add the vegetables with the batter into the wok to fry. Do small batches and cook for 1-2 mins on each side. Drain oil from pakoras with paper toils, season with salt and serve with sweet dipping sauce.

12 thoughts on “Broccoli and Cauliflower Pakoras

  1. You are tempting me 🙂 I’ve been trying hard to stop myself from making these but they look so good!

    Have fun in Melbourne! Looking forward to hear from you again.

    Btw Melbourne and Tasmania could be my next holiday destination.

    • You should try make a small batch. Not so fatty then. Add some chilis if you like it hot. I thought I was going to bring some for the kids so I left that out.
      Thanks, having heaps of fun in Melbourne! You will love it here. Its the best city in Australia. Haven’t been to Tasmania but I have heard its very beautiful and has really fresh fruit.

  2. Making this for the kids tonight! They will love the fact that it is “breaded” – and gluten-free too! I’m missing the nectarines, cherries and peaches. It’s only December and I’m a little tired of the apples and pears.

  3. You are amazing with all this great cooking! I will have to look for chickpea flour and make some good food. This looks delicious 🙂

  4. Pingback: Winter Warm Risottos | Live Blissful

Leave a Reply

