San Choy Bow and Nectarine Galette

Now that I am back to reality, its back to the kitchen for me. Marco suggest San Choy Bow for dinner. He begged me to make his with beef mince, but of course that wasn’t going to happen. This is what I came up with and he was very happy with the result. I used Wombok instead of lettuce, but either will do. It is a Chinese cabbage that can be eaten like a lettuce or cooked like a cabbage. I find it really fresh and crisp and it is great for Asian salads.

For dessert I modeled my Nectarine Galette from Chef Chloe’s recipe for Rustic Peach Galette. I followed all the steps except putting the galette in the fridge before baking and topping with maple syrup and more sugar. Nevertheless it turned out really nice and I served it with a dollop of coconut cream. I peeled the nectarines which was a challenge, since they were so ripe. The dogs both enjoyed the nectarine skins. I was surprised how much they love fruit.

DSC01258

San Choy Bow (vegan, gluten free, nut free)

DSC01253Ingredients:

1/2 cup soy mince

20 g shiitake mushrooms

1 cup vegetable/other liquid stock

1 tablespoon tamari/soy sauce

2 garlic cloves

1 knob of ginger (same amount as garlic)

2 small red chili

1 carrot

1 small red or brown onion

100 g water chestnuts

2 leaves of silver beet spinach

1 tablespoon sesame oil

2 tablespoon hoisin sauce

6 leaves of wombok/iceberg lettuce

Method:

1. Soak the soy mince and shiitake mushrooms in the vegetable stock and marinate with soy sauce. (If you want to cut the mushrooms then soak separately in 1/2 cup of stock each).

Soaked soy mince & mushrooms

Soaked soy mince & mushrooms

2. Finely dice the garlic, ginger, chili, carrot, onion, water chestnuts and spinach leaves (not stalks).

3. Wash the wombok/cabbage leaves and cut them into cups. If using a wombok, cut off the spine of the leave from the bottom.

4. Take the wok and heat the sesame oil. Add the garlic, ginger, chili and onion. Cook for 2-3 mins or until onions begin to brown.

5. Add the carrot, soy mince, shiitake mushrooms and any stock that may not of been aborbed. Cook for 4 mins. Add more stock or water if it sticks.DSC01255

6. Add the hoisin sauce and the spinach leaves and cook for 2 mins or until the spinach has wilted.

7. Assemble the wombok leave on the plate and add the mixture to the center. To eat roll the leaves in so that it becomes like a pocket/package.

Nectarine Galette

DSC01270

DSC01281

7 thoughts on “San Choy Bow and Nectarine Galette

    • Thanks Miss Marzipan! But sorry I’m taken lol My boyfriend can’t cook and doesn’t like me moonlighting for other people. When we were separated for a few weeks before he joined me in Europe earlier this year he was a skeleton when he arrived.

  1. They both look really yummy. I’ve been getting bored with the vegetarian thing … and tofu (I never thought I’d say that about tofu). I’ll give this a try … I have all the ingredients.

Leave a Reply

