Mushroom Wellington

Tonight my friends came over and made the most amazing Beef Wellington from scratch for us. I decided before they came that I wasn’t going to eat any beef. This was my first biggest temptation since transitioning to vegan. Instead I made my own version of this dish.

I adapted the recipe from Virtually Vegan Mama’s Portobello Wellington. I added toasted walnuts to mine and used silver beet spinach, vegan chicken stock, worcestershire to flavor it.  I ended up having to use pre-made frozen chapati, since I didn’t have any puff pastry and the shops were closed by the time I realized I was out. I wasn’t sure if it would bake like puff pastry, but surprisingly it puffed up nicely. This recipe is only really enough for one portobello mushroom. I only had a teaspoon left over and an extra mushroom, so I made a mini one as well.

I did taste their Beef Wellington and it was very good. They did a great job and it cooked perfectly. Mine was a good enough substitute and I don’t regret having this instead. For the sides they roasted asparagus and carrots with honey. These were very quick to cook and delicious. This could be veganised by using agave or maple syrup instead of honey.

DSC01193

‘Mushroom Wellington (vegan, gluten free option, soy free)

Ingredients:

2 tablespoons walnuts

1 large portobello mushroom

2 button mushrooms

5 shittake mushrooms, soaked in 1/4 cup vegan beef/vegetable liquid stock

1/4 cup vegan liquid stock

1/4 teaspoon dried or fresh thyme

1/2 teaspoon onion flakes

1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

1/4 teaspoon sea salt

1/8 teaspoon black pepper

1 leaf of silverbeet spinach (discard the spine)

1 teaspoon vegan worcestershire sauce

1/2 tablespoon olive oil

1/2 sheet of vegan puff pastry/2 sheets of frozen chapatiDSC01166 (use gluten free if you prefer)

Method:

1. Preheat oven to 180 degrees

2. Dry toast the walnuts in a pan, then set to the side.DSC01168

3. In the processor, blend button mushrooms, shiitake mushrooms, 1/4 cup liquid stock and toasted walnuts.

4. Next add spinach leaves, thyme, onion flakes, garlic powder, sea salt, pepper and rest of the liquid stock.DSC01178

5. Heat a olive oil in a pan then add the mixture. Add the worcestershire sauce and cook for 5 mins or until the liquid drys up.

6. Prepare the large mushroom, by washing or brushing it clean, removing the stem. Then stuff the mixture into the mushroom.

7. Cover the mushroom in puff pastry and bake for 20-30 mins or until the pastry is golden brown.

DSC01183

DSC01184

DSC01190

21 thoughts on “Mushroom Wellington

  1. Pingback: Vegan Thanksgiving Main Dishes They’ll Love | Honk If You're Vegan

Leave a Reply

