Coconut Vanilla Oatmeal

This is a simple breakfast I whipped up this morning. I was craving oatmeal last night, but after reading someones post about the dangers of binge eating I thought I better wait till the morning. I already had devoured some fruit and leftovers in the fridge. I go through phases of eating oatmeal every day and then not eating for months. I like it mildly sweet and very thick. I have seen a few savory oatmeal recipes that I would also like to try. How do you like your oats?

I always choose organic oats. This is because a while back when I was going to my nutritionist and trying to get over leaking gut syndrome, my doctor advise me that I only eat organic oats. This is because I had a mild gluten intolerance and organic oats are not cross-contaminated with wheat and other grains that have gluten. Although I can now tolerate gluten again I still prefer to avoid pesticides and herbicides in my food as much as possible and organic oats are quite cheap and available from the big supermarkets.

DSC01113

Coconut Vanilla Oatmeal (vegan gluten free, soy free or nut free)

Ingredients:

1/2 cup instant or rolled oats, preferably organic

1/4 cup desiccated coconut

1 cup vanilla soy or almond milk

1 tablespoon chia seeds (optional)

fresh fruit & shredded coconut to serve (optional)

Method:

1. Take a pot and add oats, cocont and chia seeds and stir though.

2. Then add soy milk and place on a medium heat. Cook for 5mins or until the oats have thickened.

*Serve with fresh fruit and shredded coconut on top. Serves 1.

15 thoughts on “Coconut Vanilla Oatmeal

  1. Looks yummy! I always avoided oats as there were different views about them being gluten-free or not and now this past year we have been buying organic oats, too. We use them different ways as well in smoothies, pikelets, cookies, and in a base for a caramel slice 🙂

    • That’s okay 🙂 Your post reminded me that I haven’t made them for a long time so I might need to as well. Now looking, there are quite a few ways to make them, but I usually make simple banana oat pikelets by blending the oats and other ingredients. Am curious to see what you might come up with if you make them 🙂

  2. Looks good!
    Two of my sons have oatmeal/porridge every morning. I cook it up with water and rice milk. Then sprinkle it with ground flax and chia seeds, and add a drizzle of maple syrup. They love it!
    We add oats to pancakes as well (we grind them in a spice grinder first).

    • Thanks 🙂 That’s really good that you can get your kids to eat those healthy seeds so young. I find it hard to get Marco to eat them lol I will have to try with flax seeds. I have them but don’t use them enough.

  3. Great idea of adding coconut and fresh fruit! Yummy! I usually eat my oats as a birchermuesli or with almond milk and a heaping tablespoon of maple syrup. Have to try this one!

  4. don’t laugh at me but i have never tried cooking oat before. the ingredients in this recipe seems perfect to compliment each other. i can’t leave for work without breakfast everyday. i must try this. thank you for sharing. looking forward to taste it.

    • No problem. I only started cooking oats in recent years. I used make the microwave flavored oats. I’m sure you have heaps of interesting breakfast foods on your part of the world. We can learn from eachother 🙂

Leave a Reply

