Sunflower Seed Cinnamon Nut butter

I was really craving a thick nutty smoothie but I didn’t have any banana, soy yogurt or nut butters. So I decided to make my own nut butter with sunflower seeds. This was experimental so I didn’t make a large quality. I was quite happy with the result, but next time I will toast the sunflower first. I used it in my blueberry smoothie and it thickened it up nicely.

Sunflower seeds are really high in vitamin E, which neutralizing free radicals and is significantly anti-inflammatory. This is great for people with asthma, osteoarthritis, and rheumatoid arthritis. They area also a great source of vitamin B1, manganese, copper, tryptophan, magnesium, selenium, vitamin B6, phosphorus and folate [1].

Sunflower seeds can be eaten raw and also toasted. I prefer them toasted as it gives them a really different flavor and doesn’t taste so woody. You can add them to salads, cereals and porridge, make spreads and even grind them to use in place of flour when dusting meat/meat substitutes.

This is my first time making nut butter. What ones have you made? Any tips for flavors and techniques?

DSC01086

Sunflower Seed Cinnamon Nut butter (vegan, gluten free, soy free, nut free)

Ingredients:

1/2 cup sunflower seeds (toasted or untoasted)

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon ground cloves (optional)

pinch sea salt

1 tablespoon agave

1 tablespoon sunflower oil

1/4 cup water

Method:

1. First grind all the sunflower seeds in the processor.

2. Then rest of the ingredients while processor is one. First start with spices, salt, then agave & oil and lastly the water.

*About 1/2 cup

Blueberry Sunflower Smoothie (vegan gluten free, nut free, soy free)DSC01092

Ingredients:

1/2 cup blueberries

3/4 plant milk (coconut, rice or oat; almond or soy if you can tolerate)

1 big tablespoon Sunflower Seed Cinnamon Nut butter

Method:

1. Blend all the ingredients and serve.

*Serves 1

[1] Sunflower seeds, <http://www.whfoods.com/genpage.php?tname=foodspice&dbid=57#preptips>

10 thoughts on “Sunflower Seed Cinnamon Nut butter

    • Hi Terry, agave is a natural sweetener from the blue agave plant. I have seen many people use it instead of sugar or honey in recipes. I usually use maple syrup but I decided to buy this one instead this time to try. Its quite sweet and has a nice flavor.

  1. I am going to try this! Occasionally we buy Sunflower butter at the supermarket- but it’s about $6 a jar.
    I made peanut butter once when we first bought our high powered blender. We usually make nut ‘cheeses’ but I guess it’s a similar process to making nut butter.
    Our local health food shop has DIY grinding machines- so I usually buy our macadamia butter and cashew butter there.
    But you have definitely inspired me to make sunflower butter. 🙂

    • Yeah I’ve tried the the Sunflower butter before, I quite like it but it is expensive for the amount you get. Which health food store do you make the nut butters? Is it a chain? That sounds really cool. I tried macadamia from a market before and I loved it.

Leave a Reply

