‘Chicken’ Schnitzel with Roasted Cherry tomato Sauce, Creamed Spinach and Rosemary Sweet Potato Thins

I was so excited to try Fry’s Golden Crumbed Schnitzels. Schnitzel has always been one of my childhood favorites  My mum use to fry up a whole batch of chicken schnitzel when I wasFRYG162C a kid and we would have the leftovers in sandwiches for days. My Nona always makes veal cutlets, which are always on hand in case one of her sons stop by and are hungry

185143_10151039143642292_1250018376_n

Wiener Schnitzel, Kartoffelsalat & Krautsalat. ( Pork Schnitzel, with potato & saurkraut)…This was just Marco’s portion of schnitzel)

When I visited Vienna in June, we had the best Wiener Schnitzel ever, from Schnitzelwirt. They were huge and they gave us to 2 each. Due to the language barrier we didn’t realize how much food we had ordered. But that was a normal portion. Now I have had the best and I have committed to not eating meat, I am happy I tried it there, but I’m not really craving it like I use to. Besides the meat factor, it is an extremely unhealthy fried food that I shouldn’t be eating. At home I rarely fry. I only started dabbling in pan frying and the occasional deep fry recently. Mostly because I am scared of the hot oil and because I have always felt crappy after fried food.

Fry’s Schnitzel’s are quite good for a mock meat brand. I baked mine, even though they recommend grilling is the best option. They are crispy and not oily. They have a slight chicken taste and have a really nice crust. I recommend it for all, even if your non vegetarian. Marco really liked it and it definitely satisfied our craving for crumbed meat.

I served it with a Roasted Cherry tomato Sauce, so that it would be like a Chicken Parmigiana   without the cheese. Even before I stopped eating meat and cheese I never order Chicken ‘Parma’ out. It is a pub classic here in Australia. But I always find that it is really dry. I only like this kind of thing home made.

For the sides I tried to make a Creamed Spinach. Marco hates his mum’s creamed spinach. I have tried it years ago and its not to bad. She makes it with cream and eggs. I think it must be a Serbian recipe. He has only started trying spinach again with me in last few years, as this ‘mushy’ spinach is one of his dreaded childhood foods. He didn’t love my creamed spinach, but he said it wasn’t too bad. It didn’t have a strong spinach taste, which is probably why he didn’t mind it. For the sweet potato I cut them really thin and cooked them with fresh rosemary. If you don’t have any rosemary growing, buy a big bunch and freeze it. It freezes really well and goes crispy when you roast it.

‘Chicken’ Schnitzel with Roasted Cherry Tomato Sauce (nf)

Roasted Cherry Tomato Sauce (vegan, gluten free, soy free, nut free)

Ingredients:

450g cherry tomato

5 garlic cloves (unpeeled)

sea salt

ground cayenne pepper (optional)

raw sugarDSC01099

Method:

1. Preheat the oven to 180 degrees.

2. Wash and cut in half all the cherry tomatoes.

3. Take a baking tray and add cherry tomatoes, whole garlic cloves and sprinkle with sea salt and cayenne pepper. Cook for 15-20 mins, so that garlic is soft.

4. Blend the garlic and tomatoes together into a sauce.

5. Heat sauce in a small pot and adjust seasoning. Add a pinch of sugar, if the sauce is too acidic.

*Serve on top of schnitzel (enough for 4)  or add to hot pasta.

Creamed Spinach (vegan, gluten free, soy free, nut free)

Ingredients:

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 small onion

3 leaves of silver beet spinach

1 tablespoon vegan butter

3/4 cup unsweetened plant milk (rice or oat; almond or soy if you can tolerate)

1 tablespoon lemon juice

1 tablespoon arrowroot flour

sea saltDSC01098

Method:

1. Heat a pan with oil and then cook onion for 4-5 mins or until browned. Put to the side.

2. Remove all the green leaves from white spine of the spinach and wash. Then cut into thin ribbons.

3. Remove onion from pan and place in the spinach. There should be enough water on them from washing them, otherwise add a little bit in the pan.Cook for 2-3 mins or until soft. Strain if there is a lot of water released from the spinach.DSC01107

4. In pan heat butter and add onion & spinach.

5. Mix lemon juice and arrowroot with soy milk, then add to the pan. Heat through until thickened. Adjust seasoning and serve.

*Serves 2 as a side.

Rosemary Sweet Potato Thins (vegan, gluten free, soy free, nut free)

Ingredients:

4 medium sweet potatoes

3 springs of rosemary

olive oil

sea saltDSC01100

Method:

1. Preheat oven 180 degrees.

2. Cut sweet potatoes in long thin pieces. Remove leaves from rosemary sprigs.

3. Take a baking tray and place baking paper on top. Add sweet potato, rosemary leaves and sea salt. Cook for 30-40 mins or until cooked.

* Serves 4 as a side.

DSC01104

8 thoughts on “‘Chicken’ Schnitzel with Roasted Cherry tomato Sauce, Creamed Spinach and Rosemary Sweet Potato Thins

  1. Ah I never knew Fry’s was available overseas! Its a Cape Town based family business 🙂 I still need to try their stuff, it looks so good

    • I’ve only tried a couple of their products but they are the probably the best quality vegan products here in Australia. Unfortunately we don’t have their whole range but hopefully we will get some more variety soon.

  2. Pingback: Roasted Cherry Tomato, Spinach, Lentil & Buckwheat Stew and Pumpkin Spelt Loaf | Live Blissful

Leave a Reply

