Minestra di zucca alla milanese with Buttery Biscuits and Chocolate gelato with choc chips

Today we had the kids stay over again. Marco had to work for most of the day. So we had fun eating, swimming, painting, watching movies and playing with the dogs. It wasn’t all smooth sailing, but for the most part they were very good. I am so tired now. I never realized how much kids eat and snack a one day. There were so many dishes to do. To be honest, since I cook, Marco usually does the dishes, so I usually get off easy. But today I had to do it all myself and I really realized how many things I use it one day, then times it by 3.

For breakfast I made the kids Vanilla Maple Breakfast Polenta with topped with Blueberry Vanilla Chia Seed Jam. This jam is sensational! It is by Angela, from the blog Oh She Glows. When strawberries where cheap I made it with Strawberries, which was also really good. Strangely enough the kids didn’t like the warm jam. They rather more maple syrup to make it sweeter. For lunch one wanted sushi and one wanted fried rice. At least it was the same grain I was preparing. I separated the cooked rice and made half sushi rice and left the rest for fried rice. However, I didn’t realize I didn’t have any tuna until I was about to make the sushi. The little boy only eats tuna cucumber sushi and was very upset that I ‘lied’. Luckily he ended up eating the fried rice.

For dinner I made the recipes below. They didn’t like the pumpkin pasta soup, but they did love these biscuits. Marco and I both liked both. I think they are not use to the taste of nutritional yeast, which would be strange for anyone trying it for the first time. The soup didn’t really turn out like a soup. I suppose I could of added more water, but to be honest I was in a hurry trying to get it all ready. When kids are hungry they are relentless in telling you. Luckily I redeemed myself with dessert. After walking the dogs and hunting for Christmas lights this was a nice way to cool down.

The Minestra di zucca alla milanese is a veganised version from the Italian website, Giallo Zafferano. This is an ancient Milanese dish that uses a few simple ingredients to create something truly delicious. I never saw this on any menus while I was in Milan, so it must be a dish that is made at home. Its similar to pumpkin mac’n’cheese. I used butternut pumpkin, which made it quite sweet. I only needed to change the milk to soy, butter to vegan butter and Parmesan to nutritional yeast. I wanted to serve it with focaccia bread, but I completely forgot and then it was 6pm. So I made these Quick Buttery Biscuits from Chloe’s Kitchen. This was my first time making them and they are wonderful. The only thing I did differently was use wholewheat flour instead of plain flour.  I am so happy I  have tried this recipe as it is a good way to bring more comfort to a soup, stew or a grate snack with jam.

DSC01009

Minestra di zucca alla milanese (vegan, gluten free option, nut free)

Ingredients:

600g butternut pumpkin

2 cups soy milk

sea salt to taste

40g vegan butter (nutlex)

200g lumache/ditali/other short pasta/gf short pasta

25g nutritional yeast (more to taste)

Method:

1. Wash and cut pumpkin into small pieces, remembering to remove the seeds and skin.DSC01000

2. Place pumpkin with a pinch of salt, in a steamer or boil in little bit of water, till soft. Then strain. DSC01001

3. Place pumpkin into a processor and blend till smooth.

4. Take a large pot and bring to the boil the soy milk. Then add mashed pumpkin and salt to taste.

5. Add the pasta and cook until pasta is cooked.

6. Add vegan butter and nutritional yeast. Adjust seasoning and serve. DSC01005

*Add more water for a more thinner consistency.

*Serves 4

Quick Buttery Biscuits (adapted from Chloe Coscarelli) (vegan, gluten free option, soy free, nut free)

Ingredients:

2 cups wholewheat flour (or unbleached plain flour or gluten free flour)

1 tablespoon baking powder

3/4 teaspoon herbamare/salt

1/2 cup vegan butter + more to brush and serve

3/4 cup unsweetened plant milk (coconut, rice or oat; almond or soy if you can tolerate)

Method:

1. Take a large bowl and add flour, baking powder and salt. Whisk so it is all combined. DSC01003

2. Add vegan butter (don’t mix it too well). Then add soy milk and stir roughly with wooden spoon. (Chloe recommends not to over work it, so that butter is a bit lumpy)DSC01004

3. Place on a flourly board and roll into 2 oblong shapes. then cut them into pieces.DSC01012

4. Place pieces of dough onto a baking tray and brush with melted vegan butter (about 1 tbsp).

5. Cook in the oven for 12-15 mins then place on cooling rack, before serving.

* I made 10 biscuits.

DSC01015

Chocolate Gelato with Choc chips (vegan, gluten free, nut free)

Ingredients:

4 frozen bananas

1/2 can coconut cream (or just the solid cream part)

1 teaspoon cocoa powder

maple syrup to taste

vegan chocolate chips to taste (I used Sweet Williams)

Method:

1. Place banana and coconut cream in the processor and whiz till smooth.

2. While it is running add the cocoa powder and maple syrup.

3. Lastly add the chocolate chips so that it doesn’t get too blended. Serve with more chocolate chips.

13 thoughts on “Minestra di zucca alla milanese with Buttery Biscuits and Chocolate gelato with choc chips

  1. Oh I am intrigued by the pumpkin pasta dish- it looks yummy! I love pumpkin with pasta.
    Your gelato looks fabulous, and Sweet William choc chips just elevate it to greater heights!
    Sounds like a busy day. I think you said in another post that the kids will be there all weekend? Enjoy the rest of the weekend. I hope it’s a smooth day 🙂

    • Thanks for comment Ally, they left today. It was great to have them but I think they were getting a bit over tired from all the excitement and no bedtime. The pumpkin pasta was really good even today. Bit disappointed they didn’t like it, but I suppose it was the first time they had seen anything like that so it was a bit weird. Hope you had a good weekend!

  2. OH MY GOSH!! Ok here’s the deal…I am going to come over tonight..I will bring whatever you need..and I NEED you to make this for me..all of this!! WOWOWOW. That cheesy looking pumpkin! YUM!

  3. That vegan cheezy sauce is a real winner! I make it like that nearly all the time. But I prefer to roast my pumpkin bits for added flavour & more flavour! Yummy!

    Your dessert is also a real winner! Yummm!

  4. Pingback: Finally hit 100th post | Live Blissful

Leave a Reply

