Stone Fruit & Berry Slice

My mum had her big work christmas party that had she catered for and she has brought home so much fruit, salad and roasted meat. I am trying to keep away from the meat, as tempting as it is. Marco has been getting his meat fill in, although he was very jealous today of my veggie burger, while he was eating his roasted turkey burger. DSC00930

I recently tried Woolworths new Macro Wholefoods Moroccan Veggie Burgers. For some strange reason they are not listed on their website or anywhere else. But I assure you that they do exist and they are really good. There are 2 or 3 other flavors  but I haven’t tried them yet.  I am a bit annoyed that Woolworths has now stopped selling  tofu and veggie patties in the fridge section and have replaced them with their brand own. Some are cheaper but most are more expensive and not organic.

Anyway with all this stone fruit that mum brought home I decided to make a slice with it. I had apriocots, plums, peaches and nectarines. Since I thought I didn’t have enough for the slice, I also added frozen berries.  Turns out I had plenty, so the amount could be reduced to 500 g and the berries are optional. I originally was trying to veganise a Donna Hay recipe, but since I didn’t really have enough or the right ingredients to do that I just used whatever I could find in the cupboard. It payed off and it turned out very good. It was not as solid as I thought it would be, the base is very crumbly, but it all looks the same in your tummy!

DSC00943

Stone Fruit & Berry Slice (vegan, soy free)

Ingredients:

1.5 cups self-raising flour

1 cup raw sugar

1 cup desiccated coconut

1 cup almond mead or ground whole almonds

1 cup ground rolled oats

1/2 tablespoon vanilla essence

2 tablespoons orange rind (about 2 oranges)

9 egg whites replacer (OrgraN No Egg: 6 teaspoons egg replacer + 3 tablespoons water)

150g melted vegan butter

750g stone fruit (halved/quartered with seed removed) & berries (fresh or frozen)

1/2 cup maple syrup

Method:

1. Preheat oven 180 degrees. Grease a baking tray (32 x 22 x 6cm). DSC00934

2. Take a large mixing bowl and add flour, sugar, desiccated coconut, ground almonds and ground oats. Stir through.

3. Add vanilla essence, orange rind, egg white replacer and melted butter. Mix so that it becomes a dough.DSC00935

4. Place the mixture into the baking tray and pat down so that it is all even.

5. In another mixing bowl combine fruit with maple syrup.

6. Add the fruit to the baking tray. Push the large pieces of fruit into the base (but not too deep).

7. Bake for 40-45 mins or until it is cooked inside.

*Serves 12

DSC00938

DSC00944

24 thoughts on “Stone Fruit & Berry Slice

  1. Oh yum, it looks so summery! I bet it would be beautiful with vanilla soy ice cream! Or non-dairy cream.
    I noticed the new Macro products for the first time last week. I bought the Smokey Eggplant bites (balls?). They tasted similar to a felafel.
    I did notice that the range of non-Macro stuff had been reduced. 😦

    • thanks Ally. wish I had some icecream it so hot here. yes unfortunately they only have a few Sanitarian products, which aren’t vegan. They use to have some great organic firm tofu that was only $2.50, theirs is now $5. Coles still has all their ranges though.

      • That tofu ‘mark up’ is significant! I noticed that Macro had a silken tofu, and the non-Macro brand was no longer available. So frustrating when they discontinue certain products.

    • Well the base with sweet and crumbly. Marco really loved that part. And some of the fruit was tangy and others were really sweet. I really loved the whole strawberries and apricots the most. All the stone fruits were close to or on their last day, so it was a good way to use them and extend their life.

  2. Pingback: Basil & Sun-dried Tomato Pesto with Straw and Hay Fettuccine | Live Blissful

  3. Pingback: Kiwi Slice | Live Blissful

  4. Pingback: Merry Christmas to all! | Live Blissful

Leave a Reply

