The long awaited Green Smoothie

I finally took the plunge on the green side and made the green smoothie. I have been wanting to do it for a while, but to be honest, I was a bit scare. So was Marco when he was faced with the green smoothie. But I have to say it wasn’t that bad.

I made it with peach, mango and tuscan kale/cavolo nero. I think the sweeter the fruit the less you notice the green stuff. I used a jug blender, which pureed the ingredients pretty well, so it wasn’t lumpy or too fibrous. I found it was sweeter with less water, but I put a bit more so Marco could experience the green smoothie too. He said it wasn’t that bad. He did only drink half of his, but it was a big step for him. Five years ago when I met him he ate meat for every meal (even breakfast) and wouldn’t even try Indian or Thai food. Now he is eating a mostly vegan diet and drinking green smoothies. I am very proud of him.

What combinations do you use to make your green smoothie? 

Do you like it really sweetened with fruit or prefer it to taste the green?

DSC00911

Green Summer Smoothie (gf, sf, nf)

Ingredients:

1 peach

1 small mango

handful tuscan kale/cavolo nero leaves (don’t use spine)

1/4 to 1/2 glass filtered water

ice cubes to serve (optional)

Method:

1. Place all the ingredients in the jug blender and wizz till its liquidized.

* Makes 1 large- 2 serves.

15 thoughts on “The long awaited Green Smoothie

  1. You are so brave! I have to admit that I’ve never had a green smoothie, but I think I’d much rather cook my vegetables some other way and enjoy my fruit smoothie without them. 🙂

  2. My husband and son were very hesitant to try green smoothies. But after a few months of watching me drink mine, they decided to try. Now they don’t want to start the day without a glass of “green juice”! If I had to pick a favourite, I’d say coconut/pineapple/banana/bok choi, but it’s rare to find a combo I don’t like. The boys’ favourite is banana/strawberry/pineapple/spinach.

  3. I’ll use: apple, kale, banana, almond milk and a few tablespoons of chia seed or flaxseed meal. I’ve been thinking of switching to hemp seeds ’cause it has the perfect proportion of omega 3s and 6s, but I still have tons of flax…..

Leave a Reply

