Indian inspired feast

I am overwhelmed by all the positive comments I have received today. I never thought people would read my blog, let alone  nominated me for so many awards. I initially started this blog to help me change to a vegan lifestyle diet. So far I have been doing really well, which has a lot to do with the inspiration from other bloggers and their nice comments about my food. I am use to my friends and family thinking my dairy free food was strange enough, let alone removing the animal products entirely. But I think my cooking has improve a lot for both myself and others, who now think that this vegan food doesn’t look that bad. All I know is I feel great and eating a healthy diet is becoming more effortless.

I admit I do struggle with entirely eliminating fish, eggs and honey out of my diet. But these are not an every day thing or a complete substitute to meat. Its still a process for me and I have cut back a lot. I don’t really eat eggs anymore, since my chickens have been re-homed. Only the occasional crepe that Marco begs me to make. I was struggling with the decision to re-home them, but my mother was relentless about me getting rid of them. I only agreed to it when I found out Marco’s boss and his wife were paying extra council rates to keep their baby roosters, because their kids had grown too attached to them and wanted some lady hens to keep them company. Apparently they are really happy and now my dogs regained the grass in my yard, so they are happy too. I am especially happy now they they have stopped using my veggie patch as a toilet. Sushi is my biggest weakness still. Usually I can find vegan substitute, but sometimes they don’t have them or they just don’t look that good. I am only human, so I am not going to be too hard on myself. For the most part I want to avoid the bpa in canned fish and mercury in fresh seafood. So since I am not substituting it on a daily basis, for now its an occasional food.

Dark Sweet Eggplant, Spring Onion & Broccoli Noodle Stir-fry

Lunches and dinners are very easy now I have accepted that I don’t need some kind of major protein in every meal. Lots of vegetables have protein that I never realized. On the menu today was Dark Sweet Eggplant, Spring onion & Broccoli Noodle Stir-fry for lunch and for dinner was a Vegetable Korma Curry, Red Dhal curry, Rice and Coconut Poori. I also made a banana curry, but it wasn’t a success. I tried to make this recipe a few years back and miss read it, thinking I needed green bananas. They were so taut that I ended up trying to fry them to make them edible. I didn’t make the same mistake tonight, but I think I may have burnt the spices, plus the soy yoguart and lemon juice did not help the flavor. No one was a fan of this curry. So I think its time to give up on banana curry and leave it up to the experts.

The recipes of Red dhal dish and Coconut Poori are from from the book INDIAN FOOD – INTERNATIONAL SERIES. I have had this book for years. It has great recipes for Indian breads and spice pastes and snacks. The Red Dhal dish is an appetizers  but I think it can be enjoyed for a main meal. It is very easy to make and takes very little effort. The recipe doesn’t ask for salt, but for me I used plenty of it to bring out the taste of the dhal and I also used coconut oil instead of ghee. It is gluten free and is a very hearty dish. The Coconut Poori were really different, but really delicious. I made the first couple too big and flat, so they didn’t puff up. So for the rest I made them thicker and smaller and they came out perfect. They are really good with a curry or can be enjoyed after dinner with some chocolate spread. These are not gluten free, but the recipe calls for wholemeal flour or Indian atta flour. It also calls for plain flour, but I forgot about it and it was fine without it. The Vegetable Korma was just whatever vegetables I could find to add. I didn’t make the spice paste, since I had some left over in a jar. I was going to add soy yogurt, but decided to change it to coconut cream in the end, since it was tangy enough.

Red Dhal (gf, sf, nf)

Ingredients

200 g red dhal/lentils (washed)

4 cups water

1 tsp ground turmeric 

1 crushed garlic clove

30 g vegan butter/coconut oil

1 large onion (chopped)

1 tsp garam masala

1/2 tsp ground ginger

1 tsp ground coriander

1/2 tsp cayenne pepper

sea salt to taste

Method:

1. Take a medium size pot and add the lentils, water, turmeric and garlic. Bring to the boil then place on a simmer for 30 mins (or until dhal is soft)

2. Just before dhal is finished, take a pan and melt coconut oil. Then add onion and the remaining spices. Cook for 5 mins, or until onions are soft.

3. Add onions to dhal, stir through and serve.

*Serves 6

Vegetable Korma (gf)

Ingredients:

2 tbsp coconut oil

1 onion chopped

2 cloves of garlic (chopped)

4 potatoes (chopped)

1 red capsicum (chopped)

1/2-1 eggplant (chopped)

2 tbsp korma spice paste (or more)

300 ml chicken stock

250 ml coconut cream (1 tetra pak)

Method:

1. Take a large pot and melt coconut oil. Then add onions, garlic and korma spice paste. Cook for 3 mins, add water if becomes dry.

2. Then add rest of the vegetables and coat in the spice paste.

3. Add chicken stock and cook for 30mins or until potato is soft.

4. Lastly before serving, add coconut cream and heat through, then serve.

*Serves 4

Coconut Poori (sf, nf)

Ingredients:

200 g wholemeal flour/Indian atta flour

100 g plain flour (optional)

1/2 tsp sea salt,

100 g desiccated coconut

1 tsp chili powder (I used cayenne pepper)

1/2 tbsp sugar

2 tbsp ghee/coconut oil/vegan butter

150 ml water

oil for frying (sunflower oil)

Method:

1. Take a mixing bowl and combine wholemeal flour, salt, coconut, cayenne, and sugar. 

2. Then add melted coconut oil and stir so that it becomes like bread crumbs.

3. Then add water so it becomes like a dough and set aside for 10 mins.

4. Divide into 14 balls and flatten into a small disk shape.

5. Heat wok with oil then place the disks into the oil and hold under the oil. They are ready when they puff up and are golden brown.

*Serves 14

12 thoughts on “Indian inspired feast

    • Its probably the easiest cuisine to eat out. they are really good with intolerance and diets. unfortunately mine never tastes like real indian food, but I try. This acutally tasted much more indian the next day, that must be the secret.

Leave a Reply

