Chia & Pepitas Banana Bread

I have been trying to incorporate more seeds and nuts into my diet lately, since they are so healthy. They also taste really great in baked goods. Tonight’s dessert was a bit experimental, but it turned out really well. The chia seeds have a slight crunch on the inside and the pepitas seeds taste really great roasted on the outside. I wanted to also put some dates inside, but I forgot, so that gives me an excuse to make something else baked and sweet this week.

Chia & Pepitas Banana Bread (vegan, soy free)

Dry Ingredients:

2 cups unbleached self raising flour

2/3 cup evavorated cane sugar or raw sugar

1/4 cup chia seeds

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

2 handfuls pepitas seeds

Wet Ingredients: 3 large ripe bananas

1/2 cup plant milkΒ (coconut, rice or oat; almond or soy if you can tolerate)

1 teaspoon almond essence

1/4 cup filtered water

Method:

1. Preheat the oven to 180 degrees.

2. Take a large bowl and mix in all the dry ingredients (except pepitas seeds).

3. Take a smaller bowl and mash the bananas.

4. Add almond milk & vanilla essence to the bananas.

5. Add the bananas to the large bowl with the flour and stir it all through.

6. Add water to make the mixture more wet.

7. Place in a bread tin (with baking paper or greased with butter) and sprinkle pepitas seeds on top.

8. Cook in the oven for 45-50 mins (until a skewer inserted into theΒ centerΒ comes out clean). Leave to cool for 10 mins then slice and serve with vegan butter.

19 thoughts on “Chia & Pepitas Banana Bread

  1. I love bread! Haven’t had so much of it lately, but I want to make this for Christmas! I’m a nutty chick and this one is right up my alley πŸ™‚ Can I sub. whole wheat? If so, how much should I reduce the portion? Always love your recipes, I bookmark them and I have a file of recipes from you already! πŸ™‚ Tweeting this now πŸ™‚

    • I’m so happy you like my recipes, I usually bookmark all my favourite recipes, its cool to know somone is doing the same with mine πŸ™‚
      I was planning on using whole wheat, but I didn’t have enough. Normally I would just use 1 tsp baking powder & 1/2 tsp baking soda or you can buy whole wheat self raising flour as well. I think the portions can all stay the same. I will try again with whole wheat soon and let you known how it turns out.

      • I just made my very first vegan pumpkin pie! I used half whole wheat and half pastry flour. It looks good … I’ll find out tomorrow. I’ll definitely make that bread with your suggestions … I want to do it for Thanksgiving, but I don’t think I’ll have enough time as I kinda want to relax before I gobble all that food and drink tomorrow. But definitely for Christmas πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: Sunshine Award x 2 <3 « The Eclectic Eccentric Shopaholic

Leave a Reply

