Roasted Cauliflower Steak & Leaves

Today was my officially last day of uni! I met my lecturer and make last changes to my thesis and submitted. What was meant to be 5000w was nearly double, luckily he didn’t mind. However, it was really rewarding, learning about Australian Aboriginal culture and the imperialist ideologies that came with the British when they colonized Australia.

During the semester we had an Aboriginal guest lecture that told us about a native Australian grain, called Mitchel grass. According to him it is one of the healthiest grains, but it is not widely eaten, because people prefer to cultivate foreign grains and spend a fortune in maintaining them, even though our climate doesn’t support them. I don’t know if this is true, but he did tell us about some other native vegetables that are really healthy that I might try and grown. I was so envious when I went to Italy and even  Melbourne and saw my families veggie patches. There are just some things I can’t grow. Strawberries are one of the hardest. My blueberry tree was also not successful, but maybe that was because I thought putting ‘lime’ in the soil before planting, actually meant the fruit. My mother thought that was very funny, when she watched me squeezing the juice into the ground, but they didn’t specify on the instructions which type of lime.

Anyway tonight I was making dinner for everyone. I roasted potato, orange & purple sweet potatoes, lotus root and garlic with rosemary. I also had to roast chicken breast for them, which I did with olive oil, garlic powder, cayenne pepper, sea salt & rosemary. I was feeling a bit jealous of their chicken, it smelt really good. By luckily I found a substitute. I remember reading a while ago, Alicia Silverstone boasting about a cauliflower steak she had a restaurant. So I though I would try this, but roasted. I just used the same seasonings as the chicken and it turned out amazing. I usually hate cauliflower, so this is a much better way to eat it. Also after I was packing all the stuff away I thought all these cauliflower leaves what a waste. So I quickly jumped online and found out that they are edible. I found this lovely recipe to prepare them, but since I didn’t have much time, I just quickly prepared them in oil, garlic powder and salt. They came out really nice too. So move over kale chips, cauliflower chips are my new craze. I will have to grow my own, since the store bought ones aren’t very leafy, but its good incentive. I bought heaps of soil today, so I will get my garden up and running again soon.

Btw if you haven’t tried Lotus Root, you must! I  buy it frozen from the Asian supermarket. I first read about it in Alicia’s Kind Diet. I usually make her recipe, Maple-roasted Lotus Root, Sunchokes and Leeks. The maple syrup makes them sweet and crispy. It’s much better then just roasted with oil.

Roasted Cauliflower Steak (vegan, gluten free, soy free, nut free)

Ingredients:

cauliflower

olive oil

garlic powder

ground cayenne pepper

dried rosemary

sea salt

Method:

1. Preheat oven to 200 degrees

2. Slice cauliflower in the middle to get a 2-3 cm slice.

3. Place on a tray with baking paper. Drizzle with olive oil and flavor with rest of ingredients.

4. Cook for 20mins, then turn over and cook for a further 5mins, then serve. Cook longer if not golden brown.

Roasted Cauliflower Leaves (vegan, gluten free, soy free, nut free)

Ingredients:

cauliflower

olive oil

garlic powder

sea salt

Method:

1. Wash and cut leaves into bite size pieces

2. Place on a tray with baking paper. Drizzle with olive oil and flavor with garlic powder, sea salt.

3. Cook for 20 mins, or until crispy

9 thoughts on “Roasted Cauliflower Steak & Leaves

  1. Pingback: Winter Warm Risottos | Live Blissful

Leave a Reply

