Fusilli all’olio con broccoli, pomodori secci e olive

Today was a quick lunch. I spent most of travelling to take poor Albie to the chiropractor. He keeps pulling his leg muscles and has been clingy and crying for days. Even though he adjusted himself 50 times he spent my of the time in the car in my arms. He’s a big boy but he loves to be cuddled. By the time I got home I felt really queezy and my headache got worse. When I forget to take my b12 & zinc tablets i get headaches that last for days. So I wanted something really savory and plain and this is what I ended up with.

I love Aldi’s Organic Wholegrain Fusilli Pasta. It tastes really good and is much healthier option. Most wholegrain pastas are quite expensive, but this one is only a couple of dollars and everyone I’ve made it for loves it. I am paranoid that they are going to stop selling it, like many of their organic lines, so keep them in supply.  I wanted to posted this recipe because I felt it had really balanced flavours. The olives were salty and rich, the sun-dried tomatoes sweet and broccoli and pasta had  a fresh nutty taste. I love pasta with olive oil base. It really brings out the flavours of the other ingredients, tastes clean and is quick to prepare.

Fusilli all’olio con broccoli, pomodori secci e olive (gfo, sf, nf)

Ingredients- 100 g wholegrain fusilli/gf short pasta, 1 tbsp olive oil, 2 cloves of garlic chopped, 5 sun-dried tomatoes in oil chopped, 6 black olives deseeded & chopped, 6-8 stalks of broccoli chopped in large pieces, pinch of ground cayenne, sea salt & black pepper to taste.

1. Cook pasta according to instructions.

2. In a pan saute garlic & sun-dried tomatoes in olive oil on medium heat. Cook  for 3 mins or until garlic is brown.

3. Add broccoli, olives, cayenne, salt & pepper. Cook for 4 mins or until broccoli is tender.

4. Stir through pasta and then serve.

4 thoughts on “Fusilli all’olio con broccoli, pomodori secci e olive

Leave a Reply

