Chocolate Peanut Banana Gelato

After a long awaited lunch today, we were still hungry. Marco offered to go to the shops and buy some more tofu to fry (he’s addicted), but I thought that would be a little unhealthy  So I decided to try vegan gelato again. I didn’t have any coconut cream, just a small can of coconut milk. I was worried it wouldn’t work, so I decided if we weren’t having gelato then we were have dessert smoothies. Coconut milk worked out fine, so I think I’ll try almond milk next time. The secret must be the frozen fruit that gives the texture of gelato. For most of the vegans I’m sure vegan gelato is nothing new, but for me and the rest of the people that I will be telling this too, this is ground breaking news. All my dairy free and vegan books don’t mention making gelato without a ice cream machine. In fact when I was in Italy, I wrote an essay (in italian) on the history of gelato and how to make it. All the info said that you need a special machine. I would like to see what happens if I try to freeze a big batch of it. That’s if we can actually leave some….

Today I also discovered something else very special, Espresso Shakes! I was reading Ruth Tal’s reFresh: Contemporary vegan recipes from the award winning fresh restaurants and discovered I can have my coffee and drink it too. Even though I love morning smoothies, there have been many mornings when I give into my morning coffee for breakfast or I have both. I was thinking the other day why not combine the two, but I thought it may be a bad idea. Well now I know its not a bad idea, in fact its a fantastic idea! So I will be looking forward to experimenting this week and combining my two loves. I also have to start juicing again. There are no more excusing now!

Have any of you made Espresso Shakes with fruit and coffee?

Chocolate Peanut Banana Gelato (vegan, raw, gluten free, soy free)

Ingredients:

2 frozen bananas

2 tablespoons natural peanut butter

1 tablespoon cacao or cocoa powder

165ml coconut milk

2 tablespoons maple syrup

Method:

1. Roughly chop up the banana and place into the processor.

2. Add peanut butter and cocoa and turn on processor.

3. While it is mixing add the maple syrup. Spin for 3-4 mins or until  the mixture is without lumps and serve immediately.

*Serves 3

20 thoughts on “Chocolate Peanut Banana Gelato

  1. Wow, you’ve been cooking up a storm this weekend! I wish I lived around the corner!
    I haven’t tried espresso and fruit shakes but I am very interested to hear how it goes.
    I first read about making ice cream with frozen banana in a raw food recipe book. It was like a revelation! Now that it’s warming up, I’ll be at it again.

    • Yes I have been neglecting my uni all week lol Yeah everyone is posting recipes for warm weather at the moment. Will post soon when I have some frozen bananas. I’m a bit nervous to use my frozen berries with espresso

  2. Hehe – I read the ingredients and thought “that’s my breakfast smoothie”! It’s hard to go wrong with frozen bananas and coconut milk 🙂 By the way, I often put whole coffee beans in with my frozen fruit to make espresso smoothies (2-4 beans for two servings) – the flavor is awesome and though the texture might bother some people, I rather like it. I just make sure to add it early enough so it blends well. My favorite is espresso blueberry banana smoothies (with spinach) in the morning.

    • Ill have to try that too. I have an espresso machine, so I thought about putting the whole shot in. Do you think its better to put that with banana rather then berries? Blueberry banana and spinach sounds great!

      • I think a cold shot of espresso in smoothies/gelato sounds delicious. If you’re going for one or the other, I think espresso + banana is a good place to start, especially if you add any cocoa. Would love to know how your espresso experiments turn out!

Leave a Reply

