Linguine con Salsa di Spinaci

Today’s lunch is just a simple dish I prepared for myself. For the past couple of days, while I’ve been procrastinating finishing my last couple of assignments, I’ve been reading through some of my mother’s old Italian cook books. What I noticed with a lot of the traditional recipes is that the sauces are very simple, especially the vegetarian ones. They usually based on olive oil, tomato or cream (fresh or bechemal) and use cheeses (parmesan, mozzarella or pecorino cheese) which are usually added at the end. As I’ve said before, I love creamy pastas and since I can’t get the vegan version eating out, I love to make them at home. It’s also a lot less fatty, so it doesn’t have to be an special occasion sauce.

This recipe is adapted from the traditional Pasta con Salsa di Spinaci. It was very quick and easy to make and the only fresh ingredient you need is spinach, if your running low on supplies. It can be made gluten free and can be served as a entree for a more heartier meal.

Spinach is a great source of vitamin C, vitamin E, vitamin K, folate, iron, vitamin B2, calcium, potassium,beta-carotene, manganese, antioxidant zinc, antioxidant selenium and much more. It has anti-inflammatory and  anti-cancer qualities from the phytonutrients and is really good for your bone health [1]. I try to eat spinach most days, or at least a variety of other healthy green leafy vegetables. They are so important to our health and can be cooked in a variety of ways, such as salads, stir-fries, sauces or on there own. I believe they are essential to everyone’s diet, whether they are vegan, vegetarian or carnivorian.

Linguine con Salsa di Spinaci (vegan, gluten free option, soy free, nut free)

Ingredients:

500g linguine (use gluten free pasta if you prefer)

1 bunch english spinach or baby spinach

4 tablespoons vegan butter

1/4 cup plain flour (or use gluten free or tapioca flour if you prefer)

500 ml oat milk (or use soy milk if you can tolerate)

1 teaspoon ground nutmeg

6-8 tablespoons nutritional yeast

salt & pepper to taste

Method:

1. Cook pasta according to instructions

2. Take saucepan add water and spinach. Cover with lid and cook for 5 mins. After remove spinach and cut finely. Keep the water and put to side.

3. Take large pan on medium heat and melt butter, then add flour and oat milk.

4. Once sauce begins to thicken, add spinach water to dilute it.

5. Add nutmeg, spinach, nutritional yeast, salt & pepper.

6. Heat pasta through and serve

19 thoughts on “Linguine con Salsa di Spinaci

  1. I know what I am having for dinner tomorrow night! 🙂
    It is just me (and the baby) at home for dinner tomorrow night – this looks quick and scrumptious. I have all of the ingredients on hand.

  2. I just wanted to let you know that I made this tonight. I halved the ingredients because I was just making it for me. It was superb! Very yummy, and very quick. Thank you. I will definitely be making it again. 🙂

      • I posted your recipe on FB too, and a couple of my friends are keen to try it.
        I look forward to hearing about the pumpkin lasagne. I don’t think you’ll regret it!

  3. Pingback: Sunshine Award « Made of Stars

Leave a Reply

