Gluten Free Bruschetta

Tonight I finally got around to making my first ever loaf of bread. I used one of Springhill Farm the real bread mix, so not completely from scratch, but pretty close to it. I originally bought a couple of packets from Coles a few weeks back, on sale for only $2.50. Considering gluten-free breads are usually quite expensive, contains lots of nasty preservatives and often aren’t vegan, I thought this was a good buy.

The ingredients in the packet include maize starch, potato starch, flaxseed flour, psyllium and pea protein. All I had to do was add 1 tbsp olive oil, 1 tbsp vinegar, 1 tbsp sugar, 1/2 tbsp salt, 2 tsp yeast, 1/3 cup boiling water, 2/3 cold water. It was pretty to easy to make. I just combined all the ingredients in my processor and blended it for 5 mins. I was meant to do it for 10, but I was worried about my blender clashing and thought I could do it by hand. Since it is gluten free, the dough does not bind in the same way, so I added a bit more water and it became a bit more sticky. I then let it rise for an hour. It got a bit bigger, but was still quite firm. I tried to knead it, or rather tried to keep it together, then put it into my plastic loaf pan. I then cooked it for 55mins in the oven.

When I took it out it was quite hard and it had not grown much. I was nervous that I had overcooked it some how. We cut a bit off the side and  Marco joked that it took his tooth. However, the inside was really nice and soft. It tasted really great and was by far the best gluten free I have ever tasted. It’s not as light as wheat bread, but it doesn’t have that strange taste that gf bread often has.

We weren’t going to have dinner tonight, but the smell of fresh bread made us all hungry. So I made a tomato and cucumber salad and a cannellini bean dip to go with it. Between me, my boyfriend and my mum, we nearly finished the whole loaf. Looking forward to finishing off the rest tomorrow morning for breakfast. So I definitely will buying this product again. The only con is that it won’t last a week like my usually gf bread. Not because of the shelf life, but because I think we will eat it all too quickly.

Tomato Salad (gf, sf, nf)

Ingredients- 4 baby truss tomatoes, 1/2 cucumber, 1/4 red onion, 1 tbsp fresh basil, 1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil, sea salt to taste

1. Chop tomatoes, cucumber, red onion and mince basil.

2. Combine all the ingredients in a bowl.

Cannellini Bean Dip (gf, sf, nf)

Ingredients- 1 can cannellini beans, 2 tbsp red onion, 1 handful coriander leaves, 1 large garlic clove, 1/2 small lemon, 2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil, 1 tsp cumin, sea salt to taste

1. Put all the ingredients in a processor and blend, but leave a bit clunky.

5 thoughts on “Gluten Free Bruschetta

Leave a Reply

