Sweet Potato and Walnut Cinnamon Buns with Maple Glaze

I’ve been looking forward to make this recipe, since I first saw it and promise myself I would do it after uni was less busy. This afternoon I started making these cinnamon buns and we finally got to enjoy them tonight. I didn’t realise they were going to take so long to make, but it was worth it. The original recipe can be found here, Sweet Potato and Pecan Cinnamon Buns with Maple Glaze. The recipe is very easy to follow and pretty simple to make.

I didn’t use bread flour, I used plain flour, which was a big mistake. Although mine were still good, they did not have the fluffy texture of bread and barely rose. I thought the yeast would make them bread-like, but clearly it didn’t. I have never used bread flour or cake flour before. They have started appearing in the supermarket, so I think I better buy some if I intend trying something like this again. I only other thing I did differently was used walnuts, instead since I didn’t have any Pecans. Other then that everyone loved them.

Sweet Potato Dough (Before rising)

Roll out dough (After it has risen)

Spread Cinnamon-Walnut Filling on dough

Roll up dough

Cut roll into 12 slices

Cinnamon Buns before baking

Maple Glaze

Glaze the warm Cinnamon Buns

Ready to serve

11 thoughts on “Sweet Potato and Walnut Cinnamon Buns with Maple Glaze

  1. Pingback: The Sunshine Award | a recipe sharing and bento blog

    • Happy you liked it. Pumpkin is a lot another great addition to dough. I often make pumpkin scones. They use to be quite famous here in Australia, but down its hard to fine a bakery that does them.

    • Thank you, it was quite easy to roll them, just would of preferred to be a bit fluffier. I think mine stayed in shape because of the flour. But it doesnt matter how they look as long as they taste great

Leave a Reply

