Asian Salad with Seaweed Noodles

Today I didn’t think I would having anything interesting for lunch. I’ve been busy procrastinating for my Italian exam for next week, which I’m really not looking forward to. I want to try out these Seaweed Jelly Noodles I bought the other day, since I knew my boyfriend might be a bit freaked out if I told him that was for dinner. They are from Korea, gluten free and can be found in the fridge section at Asian supermarket. I bought mine from Hanaro Mart, in Sunnybank. This supermarket also has legumes of Australian origin for really cheap.

I was planing on using the noodles in a stir fry, but then I read the back of the packet and it said to use it for salad. So I attempted my first Asian salad. I looked for inspiration online, but I didn’t have any of the ingredients to make a typical Asian salad dressing. So I tried to combine a few things and it tasted quite good.  The rest of the dressing can be kept to marinate tofu or added to stirfry. These seaweed noodles are actually quite crunchy. I thought they would be more like bean noodles. I ended up adding some roasted seaweed, that  I also discovered the from Hanaro. I’ve been putting it on everything. It’s so addicted.

Asian Salad with Seaweed Noodles (vegan, gluten free, nut free)

Ingredients:

1/2 small red capsicum

1 carrot

1/2 cucumber

small segment of cabbage

100 grams seaweed noodles

2 tablespoons sesame seeds

1 tablespoon sesame oil

1 tablespoon mushroom soy sauce

1 tablespoon  lemon juice

1 tablespoon sweet chilli sauce

Method:

1. Thinly slice all the vegetables into matchsticks.

2. Place the Noodles into cold water for 2 mins, then strain.

3. Take a  small bowl to make the dressing. Combine sesame oil, mushroom soy, lemon juice and sweet chili sauce. (Makes 1/4 cup of dressing)

4. Dry toast sesame seeds in a pan.

5. Combine noodles  and vegetables in a large bowl and  2 tbsp of the dressing.

6. Serve two dishes with toasted sesame seeds on top.

*Serves 2

5 thoughts on “Asian Salad with Seaweed Noodles

  1. Pingback: Seaweed Noodles in Peanut Sauce | liveblissful

Leave a Reply

