Oh Eggs

Ok so I know vegans don’t eat eggs, since no animal products are included in the diet. I have massively cut down my egg intake and bake without eggs now. My nutritionist originally told me that I should be eating one egg a day for breakfast and this would be a healthy source of protein, which I needed to start my brain in the morning.  However, eggs have always giving me a really heavy feeling and once I eat one for breakfast I tend not to be able to eat lunch. My boyfriend also has an intolerance to eggs as well. We found this out when I finally pushed him to go get a blood intolerance test. He use to egg 1-2 eggs a day for breakfast at least, with Japanese egg mayo to compliment it. So since we found that out I have avoided cooking with eggs.

I have also read that they are not the most healthy food, which is contrary to what I and I’m sure you have always been told. “…eating even one egg a day can be hazardous to your health, because it raises cholesterol levels substantially. Extra cholesterol added to the human body ends up causing plaque which clogs the arteries. The higher your cholesterol, the more susceptible one is to develop coronary artery disease. About 70 percent of the calories in eggs are from fat, and a large portion of that fat is saturated.” (Animal Liberation 2008). “A single egg yolk also exceed the recommended daily intake of eggs” (Nutrition Facts.org). Macrobiotic theory also refers to eggs as a yang food, which should be avoided, due to the highly concentrated animal protein  I remember reading in a macrobiotic book that asian cultures often use one egg in a large stirfry for instance, which would be shared, therefore it would be divided up.

My mum has also gone off eggs since watching a Nutritional Facts video. This spoke of researching linking the cholesterol from consuming  1 egg per day decreases the life span of older woman, which is equal to 5 cigarettes for 15 years (What Woman Should Eat to Live Longer). So she too avoid eggs, however she doesn’t avoid the cigarettes.

The girls when I first got them

However I have one problem, I have 3 chickens, Savanna, Alexandria  and Gabriella. They are extremely well cared for and receive not only their mash but vegetables and fruit. They especially love garlic and mushrooms. My mum is trying to get me to give them away at the moment, as they spend the day digging and have made a real mess out the back. However, I feel bad to give them away, this is their home after all. Usually I give the eggs away or use them occasions. I understand the ethics behind not using eggs because of battery chickens, but mine are not they are free range. The decision is still up in the air at the moment, I guess if I can find a nice home for them I will have to re home them, as honestly I’m not home enough to be with them. So I guess we will see.

Anyway, since I came back from Italy I have began making pasta from scratch. I got a $10 little manual machine from Aldi, which is great  and does the job. When I was in Italy I went to a city, Mantova/Mantua to see the the Gonzaga castle.

Tortelli di zucca from Mantova

I also was very excited to try the famous Tortelli di zucca. It is a delicious filled pasta with pumpkin. It is so sweet and the most amazing thing I have ever tasted. I have started making my own take on it with roasted butternut pumpkin and it has become a family favourite. Only problem is I have been using my eggs to make the pasta. I guess I worry if I make the pasta different to how I learned, then my family wouldn’t like it. I also made yesterday with the my partners nieces and nephew Fettuccine with the Quorn Bolognese. They really loved it and didn’t even known that the Quorn mince wasn’t mince meat. I was so astonished how close it is to meat. The rest of my family also tried it and couldn’t tell. Unfortunately this also has egg whites in it as well. The company has spoke about making a vegan line, as many of the products also have milk, so a no no for me.

My goal is to try to make my free pasta egg free and to try out tvp mince as an alternative. I was a bit worried to use tvp as it doesn’t look very appealing, however my partner loves chilli con carne, Bolognese sauce and mince stuffed capsicum, so I need to find an alternative to satisfy him. Hopefully, Ill find an another alternative soon at vegan supermarket.

Vegetarian Quorn Bolognese with Egg Fettuccine

Roasted Butternut Pumpkin Ravioli with Basil ‘butter’ Sauce (nf)

Basic Pasta dough: 3 eggs, 1 2/3 cup organic plain flour, pinch sea salt, 1 tbsp olive oil (serves 4-5) (use a different dough for vegan of course)

Filling: 1/2 butternut pumpkin, basil (half bunch for filling and sauce), ‘creem’ cheese (optional), sea salt, black pepper, raw sugar

Sauce: Nutlex or another dairy free butter, basil

Roasted Butternut Pumpkin Ravioli with Basil ‘butter’ Sauce

1. Pre heat oven to 200 degrees and cut the pumpkin in thin slices.

2. Put pumpkin on a tray on baking paper, add olive oil, salt and pepper. Cover trays with aluminium foil and cook till soft (about 20-30mins)

3. On a floury board put flour, with a well in the middle then add the eggs (pre-beaten or beat in the well with a fork).

4. Add salt and olive oil and a bit of water if you need and knead the dough for 5-10 mins.

5. Cut the dough into 4 balls and let it rest for 20-30mins. (I usually can’t wait!)

6.Take the first ball and flatten it with your hand and put it through the pasta maker (pasta sheet setting). I usually have it on widest setting first and make sure there is flour between the metal rollers. Fold the sheet in half again and then put it through again. If it is fraying you can just fold it again. As the pasta sheet gets thinner, you can make the setting thinner. Repeat this process till you have got to the thinnest setting and the sheet is consistent. I usually put it through 5-6 times.

7. Place sheets on something it wont stick to and trim the edges straight with a knife.

8. Mash pumpkin in a large bowl with a fork and then add remaining ingredients to taste. If you want more creamer add more ‘creem’ cheese.

9. Now add teaspoon of the filling to the pasta sheet (towards the bottom) and leave a space between and add another dob of filling (about width of a finger). Once you have a line of the filing going across the pasta sheet, then fold the sheet over so that all the filing is covered and then cut between the bumps. Since I don’t have a ravioli cutter I just use a knife and reseal the edges with a fork. Repeat with the rest of the sheets till all used. If you don’t tortelli to stick together add some flour to them.

10. Now cook them in boiling water with pinch of salt, until they have all floated to the top, then strain.

11. In a large pan melt ‘butter’ and add chopped basil and warm on low setting. Then add pasta and salt and pepper to taste. Make sure pasta is covered in sauce and it is warm and take off heat and serve.

17 thoughts on “Oh Eggs

    • Thanks for your comment, love your blog too!. There intolerances we had with dairy and eggs were really a godsend. I inspired me to look for different recipes and find out how unhealthy this stuff really was.

      • I wish I shared your enthusiasm! While I am getting pretty good at cooking without dairy, I still miss it, and I haven’t banished eggs yet. That’s next though…I wish I could find that fake chicken you mention in your blog here in the US. I went to their website and saw they sell to Subway there! We have no equivalent fake-chicken on offer at our Subway.

      • for me it was a process, i prefer making crepes and pasta with eggs but i will eventually completely phase it out. for most recipes you can put mashed banana, soy yoghurt, flax egg/chia egg (1 tbsp ground flax/chia and 3tbsp of water) or that powdered egg replacer made of potato starch. For baking its great, im not sure that it works for everything else.
        In the US i thought you had more of a range of fake meats. I could only find that one at my supermarket that didn’t contain milk. I saw a clip of alicia silverstone on oprah, when she goes to the supermarket and shows all the great flax meats you can buy. we havent got vegan meat at subway yet, i dont think its on the agenda here. Australians have only really got interested in cooking with the tv show master chef, but as for the rest there is not that much public interest in healthy alternatives. Like they are always people talking about health, but giving the wrong old advice. Most people think meat, dairy and eggs are the most important foods to stay thin and healthy.

    • Thanks for the source, I love the line “But never underestimate the power of telling people what they want to hear.” People like to use information to suit what they want to eat, rather then looking at their over all health. Unfortunately without doctors, tv and magazine nutritionists telling people the correct way to eat, this abuse of food information will just make people fatter and unhealthier.

  1. I tried it once to lose weight in highschool and it had the opposite effect. I think people are too caught up about putting on weight from carbs. I find with a vegan diet I don’t have to worry about carbs. Even when I was dairy free only I still didn’t have any problems. I think people just don’t understand what is whole grain carbs opposed to white processed carbs. I’ve tried to inform my friends but I think its something thats been drummed into the publics minds for so long, that its a hard concept to understand that carbs are good.

  2. Pingback: Eggplant Rolls stuffed with Quinoa and ‘Mince’ | liveblissful

    • Thanks for your comment. Its hard to know what info in correct, my nutritionist told me a while back to include them in my diet as they are an important source of protein. But I do find I feel better without them. I try to listen to my stomach more then my mouth. But sometimes my mouth wins, especially when I feel like crepes. My partner is egg intolerant so I want to support him, unfortunately he likes to sneak a big hearty eggy breakfast when I’m not around.

      • I know what you mean 🙂 Im lactose intolerant but sometimes I cant resist a big cheesy pizza hehe! I completely agree with you, as long as you do what feels right then you can’t go too wrong! x

  3. Pingback: Spinach & ‘Ricotta’ Ravioli with Cherry tomato Sauce | Live Blissful

  4. Pingback: Il festino lombardo | Live Blissful

  5. Pingback: Risotto alla zucca, Brazil Nut Parmesan, Zucchini Fritters with Mint and Banana Blueberry Overnight Oats | Live Blissful

Leave a Reply

